Chocolate Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Good, I made some changes though. 1/3 cup of cornstarch instead of flour, 2 cups half and half instead of milk, 1/2 bar 98% cacao chocolate with a handful of dark chips for chocolate, and I skipped the butter. Kept the sugar, yolks and vanilla the same. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jiffy24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Amazing! Decadent and rich. I subbed one cup of milk for heavy cream, and it was worth it! Easy and tastes like a million bucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This pie is excellent! I usually top it with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Not sure I would make this again. It tastes good, but it did not set up that firm and I think it's harder to come together using flour. I ended up pushing the custard through a sieve to remove the lumps. I will probably search for a recipe using cornstarch instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I like using 6oz semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of flour use 1/3 cup cornstarch. I also like to cool pudding and then whip a small container of whipping cream up and fold into the pie. Much lighter pie and chocolate taste is just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Delicious! I am a chocolate lover but my husband prefers a lighter chocolate taste. This satisfied us both. I made a graham cracker crust which worked well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugar High
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This pie was so good! Mine came out pretty thick, which was fine. I put in extra dark chocolate and covered the bottom of my crust with banana slices, I also topped it with banana flavored whipped cream. It was very good.. Everyone who has tried it has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar High

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Excellent pie! Not too sweet, and it was enough filling to sufficiently fill the pie crust. Will definitely use recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Make sure you double this recipe to fill a pie plate up! Little bit skimpy the way it is, also, cut the amount of sugar used by 1/3 - way too sweet the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Zaino

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Modiifed this recipe for a DEEP DISH pie pan. Simply double all ingredients EXCEPT the milk . . . use only 3 cups of milk. Filling went nearly to the rim, which is good if you want more chocolate filling than whip cream. We let set over night and had for dessert the following evening. Yummy, we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States