Chocolate Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by minibakr89
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I made this using Cocoa Powder instead of the baking bars. I also added in about 1/2 c. Whipped Heavy Whipping Cream and Cream Cheese mixture to the finished product before it cooled using a hand mixer. Then I added it to a Graham Cracker Pie Shell. This pie was trying to set before it even got in the refrigerator. When it was serving time, it was the perfect texture! It was the best pie I've ever had. My husband said it was better then his mom's. Woohoo!!! This is #1 on our desert list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minibakr89

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glenwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I have made various versions of this and i have a few tips. If you want to use white chocolate add an extra oz. Start it of as if you were making bechamel, the indicated amount of butter, then the flour and cook it till it smells nutty. Then add the sugar (no need to add less sugar, it won't turn out as sweet as you'd think), then the milk and chocolate. That way you won't taste the flour, since white chocolate isn't tasty enough to cover it up (i learnt it the hard way and it took a more than generous splash of vanilla to fix it up) I top it with chopped strawberrys and it's a hit when entertaining (anything topped with strawberrys looks so conneticut you'll leave everyone thinking martha stewart catered) once i also felt like eating this and didnt have any chocolate, turns out half a pot of chocolate frosting (betty crocker, but that's just cause i had some in the fridge for late night picking) does the trick (cut a bit of sugar off) One other thing, don't waste the eggwhites make a pav top it with some more stbrrys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Wow! This was truly amazing. I can't believe that I have been missing out on this recipe for 29 years of my life! I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made this at my 9 year old request for a pie she would actually want to eat. I followed the recipe exactly to the T and it was very easy and quick to make. We used a Oreo premade crust. It is a bit too sweet for me but my daughter and mom loved it and ate most of it with lots of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Perfect! This was made in my household for thanksgiving and it was just amazing! All i have else to say is dat whoever started this excellent pie is great for doing so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I've made this twice now and it is the perfect chocolate pie. Mine turned out very rich and creamy. The second time I used more milk and an extra square of chocolate to make more filling and that one was almost too chocolately, so I will stick to 2 squares in the future. I will say I think the cooking times listed aren't enough. I stirred the mixture for at least 5 minutes, if not more before it thickened enough, and then I cooked it for 3 more after I added the warm yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This is an excellent pie! We are not dark chocolate fans in our home so I modified it a bit and used 6 oz of chocolate chips. It turned out wonderfully, rich , creamy and smooth. I also made another one and used butterschotch chips and it was very yummy! My husband wants me to try using the peanutbutter chips soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alaina Rodgers
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This pie was really easy to make after I got the chocolate chopped up! It had a great consistency reminicent of my Meemaw's chocolate pie! Would be good with meringue as well as the whipped topping suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alaina Rodgers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monette, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
it's a good recipe and really easy to make, however I found it too sweet, after one slice I had had enough of it and wanted to switch to something salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I made this almost as written. I didn't have milk so I used half-and-half. The folks at work loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States