Chocolate Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I made a 5 egg white merengue to go on top. Hubby said the pie was too chocolatey for him. I thought it was about perfect--even better after being refrigerated for awhile. It cut well, not too runny at all. Better than those pies made with cornstarch and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Definitely not the best cream pie I have ever made. For the end result, it would be much easier to just make an instant pudding pie. I was expecting something that tasted like it was homemade, and the extra effort wasn't worth it for a run of the mill pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKRUDERT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
The taste was pretty good but it was very runny. I followed this recipe exactly and have no idea where I went wrong. I even made it two days before I was serving it and it never set. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Well, I must confess I am the world's WORST baker. Seriously, even if I am cooking ready made cookie dough or a cake from the box, somehow I find a way to mess it up. That said, I was so delighted to find dessert recipe that turned out great, no matter how I butchered it. I did add an extra square of chocolate. I mean, what's not to like?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made the pie today. Instead of using unsweetened chocolate, I used 2 ozs of semi-sweet chocolate morsels and I used the egg whites for meringue. My husband said it was the best pie that I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I made this for my uncle, I added an extra ounce of chocolate like someone suggested, and my uncle said it was the best pie he ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
My family did like this pie but it was more like a pudding than a creamy pie. I was not overly happy with it but if you like a pudding pie then you'll like this one. One alteration I did make was to change one cup of milk to one cup of half'n half. Will not make again... the search continues :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I found this same recipe in my old Red and White Betty Crocker cookbook. I only made one change, instead of unsweetened chocolate squares I used 2 ounces of ghiradelli dark chocolate squares because that was what I had. They were serious dark chocolate though like 85% cacao, I kept the sugar the same figuring it would be almost like unsweetened chocolate. I topped this with a 3 egg white meringue. This is an awesome pie. Simple recipe and the chocolate filling is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlie54933

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Absolutely decadent! I used skim milk and lite cool whip topping; other wise, I followed the recipe to a "T". This was my first attempt at chocolate cream pie and I wouldn't make it any other way. I didn't find the chocolate too dark or not sweet enough, as other reviewers suggested. Perfection in a pie shell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This is an awesome recipe. I made it for the first time for Thanksgiving in a graham cracker crust. My dad went back for thirds, and he usually only does that with pumpkin pie. I'll definately make this one again; plus, it's super-easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States