Chocolate Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I read reviews. I tried 3.5 TBS cornstarch in lieu of flour, and also slightly more chocolate--and that was fine. One review suggested 2 TBS of almond extract, and that is tooooooo much. I wonder if the reviewer meant 2 tsp--that would have been fine. I also added the tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I made this recipe for family, and now they ask for it all the time. We love it, sweet and creamy, I top it with cool whip, and shredded Hershey's Candy bar. I tried to top with hershey squares of the bar, but you want to refrigerate the pie after making and they are too hard to bite into after refrigeration. I recommend not topping with cool whip until the day you are serving, and do not cover in refrigerator with plastic lid, it gathers moisture. I am not sure what another baker did wrong that it was not sweet enough. My family loves chocolate and are sweet lovers, and they love this pie, but it has to be Chocolate Cream Pie I not Chocolate Cream Pie II. For some reason I did not like that recipe as much as Chocolate Cream Pie I. I have also had requests made by people where I work, because I brought it to a pot luck meeting one time. It has been requested as a birthday gift for workers. Thanks for the recipe, and the availability to change servings sizes. I come from a family of 12 : ) Happy Easter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is the perfect chocolate pie. Easy to make, outstanding flavor. Pie is consistency of a thick cooked pudding. I had multiple requests for this recipe over the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I used 3 T. cornstarch instead of flour and 1 c. 1% milk and 1 c. Fat-free Half & Half. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This pie is definitely NOT bitter...it is wonderful! Topped with homemade whipped cream, it made for a scrumptious dessert. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Fabulous pie! I doubled the recipe and used half and half because I was out of milk and added an extra square of chocolate. My husband said he would marry me if he already hadn't !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
The recipe was very simple, but my pie was still runny after it sat in the fridge overnight. I followed the directions to tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I added 2 more ounces of chocolate and doubled the recipe. Tastes pretty good but the pie is for my husband. He is the chocolate lover in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJWEYERMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I found it good but runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was a huge hit at my house. The chocolate was more like dark chocolate, which I loved. I did use 1/2 square of sweeten chocolate and I think that might have made the difference. At the demand of my family, I will be making this again this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States