Chocolate Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
I wanted a very "whipped cream" type of chocolate frosting and this was the closest I could find. I followed the recipe with some exceptions. Instead of 1/2 cup of water, I used 1/2 cup of heavy cream. (I'd bought a pint and didn't want it to go to waste, so I figured it couldn't hurt.) Then, once the beaten whipped cream had been folded into the mixture, I didn't think the frosting was fluffy enough for what I wanted. I also could still detect some grittiness from the pudding mix even though I beat it with an electric hand mixer for quite a while. So I took the remainder of my pint of whipping cream and beat that up and folded it in too. The texture came out exactly what I was looking for. It was easy to spread immediately. The texture is light and the flavor is chocolatey with just enough richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Simply "dreamy"... light, fluffy, creamy, and satiny looking. Not too sweet with a pudding flavor. Delicious! Want to avoid the fat content in the recipe? Here's how you do it: Purchase fat-free condensed milk and, in place of the heavy cream, use one 12 fl. oz. can of fat-free evaporated milk. Omit the water in the recipe. Chill the evaporated milk in its own can (do not open it yet) to the point of it almost starting to freeze. Poor the chilled milk in a blender cup and whip until it triples in volume. Add it to the thick frosting base and mix slowly in a folding motion until well combined. Let it sit still for a few minutes to thicken before you start frosting your cake. Frosting made with evaporated milk will be very soft. Drop it by dollops on the top of your cake and near the top edges. It will slowly spread on its own and, with your guidance, it will smoothly slide down the sides of the cake, forming a thick layer as it goes down on its own. If this type of consistency is a bit too thin to your liking, put the frosting in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes to 1 hour before you spread it on your cake. Chill frosted cake for several hours prior to serving so the frosting can set. The frosting has a nice satiny look, which makes the cake look even yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYBERGIFTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Fantastic recipe. This is not like any frosting I have ever made. Here's a great thing to try: instead of 1/2 cup of water, add 1/2 cup of coffee liquer (such as Kahlua or Starbuck's). This give the frosting a great mocha flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Not really a frosting as its name suggests, but quite good on icecream. Its more like a fudge sause than a frosting. The texture is like a glaze. I tried it on angel food cake and it was delicious. I wouldn't reccommend it on a layor cake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I guarantee the reviews that say this recipe is "runny," "too sweet," "like a chocolate sauce," and "milky" made a mistake. I would bet they didn't whip the cream, and instead thought "1 cup heavy cream, whipped" meant "1 cup whipping cream." If you whip the cream like the recipe calls for, this recipe is ANYTHING but runny or too sweet. It's smooth, light, and just right. Just MAKE SURE YOU WHIP THE CREAM WELL with an electric mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
OUTSTANDING! This frosting is a winner because it's not too sweet and has great flavor & texture. TIP: When whipping heavy cream, shake well first and use a CHILLED bowl. I also doubled the amount of unsweetened chocolate and used chocolate-fudge pudding. This frosting is not as "pretty" as the store-bought kind (which uses additives to make it glossy), but it wins hands-down in taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This is the best chocholate frosting recipe i've ever made. It's so creamy and works great with a ganache. I do add another square of chocolate for a bit more consistancy. Also refridgerate for at least an hour before spreading onto cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
The "frosting" had a good flavor but it was not the texture of frosting at all. I could not get it to stick to the cupcakes. I instead spooned it into a graham cracker crust and topped with cool whip and walnuts! It was a hit after my changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan Jean
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was very good. Easy to make and went great on the yellow cake I made for a birthday party. So easy to spread. Not real sweet, and definately has a chocolate pudding flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I have never made frosting before and this was SO easy and probably the best I have ever tasted! I wanted to eat the whole thing and not even frost my cupcakes with it. In some of the reviews people said it was too runny, so I wanted to make it clear that you need to WHIP the cream until it's "whipped cream," and then fold it in. It took a while by hand but MAN was it worth it! I frosted banana cupcakes with it and made monkeys--a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States