Chocolate Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2000
this is by far the best frosting i have ever tasted. it will make the driest of cake moist and most delicious. i lost this recipe and have been tring for days to relocate it. success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2000
This frosting tastes great but I disagree with the directions. If you frost the cooled cake as soon as the frosting is done the frosting is way too runny. I put the frosting in the fridge and tried a little later with a lot more success. The flavour is excellent. Just like chocolate pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
OUTSTANDING! This frosting is a winner because it's not too sweet and has great flavor & texture. TIP: When whipping heavy cream, shake well first and use a CHILLED bowl. I also doubled the amount of unsweetened chocolate and used chocolate-fudge pudding. This frosting is not as "pretty" as the store-bought kind (which uses additives to make it glossy), but it wins hands-down in taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Great taste. and looked beautiful on my cake. Thank you, Katherine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
very very nice and tasty!! this went very well with the angel chocolate cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This is the best chocholate frosting recipe i've ever made. It's so creamy and works great with a ganache. I do add another square of chocolate for a bit more consistancy. Also refridgerate for at least an hour before spreading onto cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Delicious! I used this frosting on chocolate cream filled cupcakes the 1st time I made it and on the Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake from this site the 2nd time. It's absolutely great tasting because its not too sweet. The 1st time I made it the frosting was runny. The 2nd time I made it I realized that it was runny the 1st time because I didn't whip the whippping cream first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
This recipe goes amazingly well with desserts that are already sweet, but need an extra touch. It is especially good in chocolate eclairs, because it won't overpower the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
This recipe was time consuming to make and the colour was milky. It was very sweet and in the end, I didn't use it. The cake turned out great and it seemed a waste to ruin it with this frosting. Expensive and didn't use it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
I wanted a very "whipped cream" type of chocolate frosting and this was the closest I could find. I followed the recipe with some exceptions. Instead of 1/2 cup of water, I used 1/2 cup of heavy cream. (I'd bought a pint and didn't want it to go to waste, so I figured it couldn't hurt.) Then, once the beaten whipped cream had been folded into the mixture, I didn't think the frosting was fluffy enough for what I wanted. I also could still detect some grittiness from the pudding mix even though I beat it with an electric hand mixer for quite a while. So I took the remainder of my pint of whipping cream and beat that up and folded it in too. The texture came out exactly what I was looking for. It was easy to spread immediately. The texture is light and the flavor is chocolatey with just enough richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States