Chocolate Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Tastes Great even though i don't even really like chocolate. my sister loves it , But it is kinda of goopy if you do not chill it for long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Not really a frosting as its name suggests, but quite good on icecream. Its more like a fudge sause than a frosting. The texture is like a glaze. I tried it on angel food cake and it was delicious. I wouldn't reccommend it on a layor cake though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Definitely a keeper! The kids ask for chocolate cake with this frosting for their birthdays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
I wanted a very "whipped cream" type of chocolate frosting and this was the closest I could find. I followed the recipe with some exceptions. Instead of 1/2 cup of water, I used 1/2 cup of heavy cream. (I'd bought a pint and didn't want it to go to waste, so I figured it couldn't hurt.) Then, once the beaten whipped cream had been folded into the mixture, I didn't think the frosting was fluffy enough for what I wanted. I also could still detect some grittiness from the pudding mix even though I beat it with an electric hand mixer for quite a while. So I took the remainder of my pint of whipping cream and beat that up and folded it in too. The texture came out exactly what I was looking for. It was easy to spread immediately. The texture is light and the flavor is chocolatey with just enough richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
This recipe was time consuming to make and the colour was milky. It was very sweet and in the end, I didn't use it. The cake turned out great and it seemed a waste to ruin it with this frosting. Expensive and didn't use it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
This recipe goes amazingly well with desserts that are already sweet, but need an extra touch. It is especially good in chocolate eclairs, because it won't overpower the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Delicious! I used this frosting on chocolate cream filled cupcakes the 1st time I made it and on the Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake from this site the 2nd time. It's absolutely great tasting because its not too sweet. The 1st time I made it the frosting was runny. The 2nd time I made it I realized that it was runny the 1st time because I didn't whip the whippping cream first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This is the best chocholate frosting recipe i've ever made. It's so creamy and works great with a ganache. I do add another square of chocolate for a bit more consistancy. Also refridgerate for at least an hour before spreading onto cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
very very nice and tasty!! this went very well with the angel chocolate cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Great taste. and looked beautiful on my cake. Thank you, Katherine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States