Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
suo splendido. mi ha fatto piacere. (= it is beautiful. i was pleased)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This Recipe was very easy. It took awhile for it to cool down and didn't really taste like what I had expected. Overall it was ok, just not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
By cutting down the sugar by half and adding extra heavy cream to the frosting, I got a rich and tangy chocolate frosting that was not overwhelmingly sweet. Try using half the sugar and adding more to suit your taste. Adding more cream will help the melted chocolate not seize up and harden, as everything else is cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made this according to the recipe, except I used dark chocolate rather than semi-sweet and was NOT disappointed! As another person already stated, the reviewer who called this a "frosting for grown ups" was so right! I'm not a big frosting fan, but this tasted like truffles. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Carreras

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
A yummy frosting that tastes even better the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
AWESOME!!! We don't like sweet frostings, and this one was right on the mark. I didn't have any heavy cream so I used mocha flavored liquid coffee creamer and it turned out great. I also didn't use a double boiler, just melted the chocolate chips right on the stove on low, stirring constantly until they were melted. I'll definately be using this recipe again, and again and again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I made this frosting today for my husband's birthday cupcakes. The frosting is delicious! The frosting has a wonderful full flavour with the chocolate and the cream cheese. Not too sweet, lovely. For anyone who has already commented on this recipe that has said it is too bitter or not sweet enough, it is because of the cream cheese. I would recommend staying away from any frosting recipes with cream cheese in it. We loved it over french vanilla cupcakes with sprinkles on top. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I used the Ghiradelli chips 60% cacao bittersweet and the result was marvelous! You get that dark chocolate flavor of the Ghiradelli blended with the cream cheese and it was sublimely perfect. I used it with devil's food cupcakes for my son's birthday and it was a hit with the party! Plus taking only a few minutes to prepare is awesome too. I microwaved the chips slightly (15 seconds at a time before adding it to the 1/4 c. of cream in a pan over low heat) With quality chips you need to be careful they don't get too heated and only get to the "just melted" stage. They are done in the microwave when they still retain their shape but collapse when touched or mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Turned out really good the first time I made it. If you're having trouble with the double boiler method i found that scalding the mild and adding it to the chocolate chips worked the same way, if not better. Similar to making a ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
the is the best frosting in the entire universe! it was so easy and tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States