Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I made this with butterscotch chips, and half and half because I had no heavy cream on hand, and it is yummy! I added an extra 1/4 cup of powdered sugar to make it easier to pipe onto cupcakes, and the butterscotch frosting with chocolate cake was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.Vee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leeds, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is the yummiest chocolate frosting I have ever tasted! I doubled the recipe and it was enough to fill and frost and pipe a three-layer cake (with a little left over for me to devour!!) After I mixed everything together I let cool on the counter for about an hour, stirring every 10-15 mins until it reached room temp and it was the perfect consistency! This will be my go-to for chocolate frosting from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This frosting is very creamy, has a smooth texture but it is too bitter. It needs more sugar and I would suggest using milk chocolate instead of semisweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Sorry for the one star - but this was really just chocolate flavored cream cheese. I tried to salvage it by adding mashmallow fluff - then it was sort-of useable as a filling for cake with rasberries sprinkled in between. Sometimes the quickest option is not the best one. Honestly - this recipe made as is - might be good as a sweet "cheese" spread that you put on sugar wafers and top with a single slice of strawberry, as a finger food at a gathering with the right champange - or maybe in a crepe with camalized bananas????........but I couldn't use it as is as a frosting.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this exactly as stated and had high hopes, but sadly I didn't care for this frosting. I LOVE cream cheese frosting, but maybe not the chocolate variety. This was bitter tasting. I frosted peanut butter cupcakes with this. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
We absolutely love this frosting! Please note this is not an overly sweet frosting. It is a perfect match to the "A-Number-1 Banana Cake" from this site. I'm sure it would be wonderful with just about anything you pair it with. Very easy and quick to prepare. It thickens up as it cools. I refrigerated it for approx. 40 minutes and it was thick enough to pipe. The texture is very smooth and slightly dense. Delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I don't know if this was the problem but I used half semi sweet and half milk chocolate chips because that's all I had but it turned out tasting a bit sour. I couldn't get anyone to eat my cake after one taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dawsonville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Unfortunately, we really did not care for this frosting. My little guy wouldn't even eat it, which surprises me because he loves cream cheese. Thanks for the recipe to try though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
As a chocolate lover I found this frosting to be more tangy than chocolate tasting. Had a nice texture and frosted my cake well but if your looking for a true chocolate taste skip this recipe. I might use it in a pinch but definitely NOT my go to chocolate frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
for the most part followed the recipe except added a couple tablespoons of butter. THe frosting came out very rich and luxurious. In fact,it was a little to rich for my taste but taste wise it was delicious and incredibly easy to make. I made two devil foods cakes and had alot of frosting left over. I baked the cakes for a family dinner some members did not like it but I think eating a cake and a frosting made from real ingredients and no proplyne glycol must be a foreign taste for their taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States