Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I made a chocolate frosting form the other pages and it seemed it had the same ingredients as this recipe. I wanted to use the cream cheese, but I switched out the whipping cream for butter and added 1/2 cup cocoa heated and stirred into 5 tbsp of water until smooth. I added it to make the taste of the frosting more chocolatey. I added orange oil flavoring (1 tsp) and 1 tsp of orange zest. It came out sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Delicious frosting and super easy to make. I recently began making frosting and this was so easy to make, and a wonderful cream cheese frosting. Super and easy and will be using a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momzie418
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
It is not bad. But not the best. it is not a sweet frosting. My 4 year old did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
wonderful frosting! I doubled the recipe for layer cake. fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Luzerne, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Plain, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I did not like the taste of this recipe and neither did my sister. I ended up not using it on my chocolate cupcakes. The texture was great but the chocolate and cream cheese did not seem to mix well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I must have done something wrong because my frosting was way too thin. Made a roux and still was too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Can you say "DELICIOUS!" Made cupcakes for my daughter's first birthday and used this frosting recipe. It was easy, fast and soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This is sooo good and super easy for us beginners! It's super creamy! I followed the recipe exact. My only complaint and it's not a big one is that it's a tad bitter. I'm not a big chocolate eater so I think that next time I will use milk chocolate chips. I added a tiny bit more of the 10X sugar and a tad bit more cream to help with the bitterness. I made this icing for cake balls and it was soooo much better than the store bought stuff I usually buy. I am done with store bought chocolate icing. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Really good! I did add 1/2 cup powdered sugar and it was perfect..just the right consistency for piping right away. Didn't need to put in the refrigerator and it was just the perfect amount of sweet. I also microwaved the chocolate and cream for 1 minute instead of double boiler..it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I made this with butterscotch chips, and half and half because I had no heavy cream on hand, and it is yummy! I added an extra 1/4 cup of powdered sugar to make it easier to pipe onto cupcakes, and the butterscotch frosting with chocolate cake was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.Vee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leeds, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States