Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Delicious! I made this recipe exactly as is, except I added 1/2 tsp vanilla. This is a nice, creamy chocolate, not overly sweet. If you want super sweet, this recipe may not be for you. I found it perfect though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Delicious! I was so happy to find a frosting recipe that didn't have cups and cups of sugar, I detest sugary frosting. I had mascarpone cheese on hand, so used that to replace some of cream cheese, and used semisweet baking chocolate instead of chips. This is definitely now my go-to chocolate frosting. My husband and 3-year old loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Horrible, flat like water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
suo splendido. mi ha fatto piacere. (= it is beautiful. i was pleased)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This Recipe was very easy. It took awhile for it to cool down and didn't really taste like what I had expected. Overall it was ok, just not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
By cutting down the sugar by half and adding extra heavy cream to the frosting, I got a rich and tangy chocolate frosting that was not overwhelmingly sweet. Try using half the sugar and adding more to suit your taste. Adding more cream will help the melted chocolate not seize up and harden, as everything else is cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made this according to the recipe, except I used dark chocolate rather than semi-sweet and was NOT disappointed! As another person already stated, the reviewer who called this a "frosting for grown ups" was so right! I'm not a big frosting fan, but this tasted like truffles. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Carreras

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
A yummy frosting that tastes even better the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
AWESOME!!! We don't like sweet frostings, and this one was right on the mark. I didn't have any heavy cream so I used mocha flavored liquid coffee creamer and it turned out great. I also didn't use a double boiler, just melted the chocolate chips right on the stove on low, stirring constantly until they were melted. I'll definately be using this recipe again, and again and again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I made this frosting today for my husband's birthday cupcakes. The frosting is delicious! The frosting has a wonderful full flavour with the chocolate and the cream cheese. Not too sweet, lovely. For anyone who has already commented on this recipe that has said it is too bitter or not sweet enough, it is because of the cream cheese. I would recommend staying away from any frosting recipes with cream cheese in it. We loved it over french vanilla cupcakes with sprinkles on top. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States