Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Made this to go with dark chocolate cake 1 (from this site). I didn't have whipping cream so I used milk and it turned out fine. I did add about 1/3 c of butter. It was a bit soft at first but it was quite warm in my house. It was very tasty and went great with the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I thought this icing was great! It was my daughters 30th birthday and I used this frosting, and she thought it was "awesome" as she would say. The person that gave this recipe 1 star...is the only one that did. Well, she definitely is missing out on a great easy and yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
After reading a number of reviews with suggestions to add butter and/or powdered sugar I at first made notes to myself to keep that in mind and do that when I made this. For whatever reason, in the end I decided against that, opting to make the frosting exactly as the recipe directed. And what a reward I got for that! This is rich, smooth, super chocolatey and not too sweet - but certainly sweet enough. One reviewer said it best when she called this a "frosting for grown-ups." When some of the reviewers described this as not sweet enough I knew this was just what I was after and would be perfect for the cupcakes I made with "A-Number-1 Banana Cake," also from this site. After mixing it up I refrigerated it and checked it every 15 minutes or so, giving it a stir and repeating until I had a thick enough consistency for piping. The texture alone is a good reason to try this - this is real frosting and a simply excellent recipe. Also - this was just the right amount to frost 24 cupcakes and would also work for a 9x13" cake. If I were to use this for a layer cake, however, particularly if I planned to pipe any decorations or borders, I would double the recipe - better to have some left over than not enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
O.M.G. This was great. I doubled it to use for a chocolate layer cake. It was incredibly dark and not too sweet. I did add another 1/3 cup of sugar to the doubled recipe just to make it a tad sweeter, though. I made a chocolate cake that was quite sweet and this frosting was exactly the thing to compliment it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELSTAR
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is now my go to chocolate frosting recipe. Not to sweet, not to tangy. Lots of flavor and so light and fluffy. I followed the instructions except I didn't use a double boiler, I microwaved the chocolate with heavy cream for one minute, stirred and it was good, you might have to microwave for an additional 15 seconds but only 15 seconds interval there after. After I added all the chocolate I let it chill for a few hours and then put the mixer attachment back on and mixed for another couple minutes. What a simple recipe with gourmet results! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSTAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
i got invited to a last minute potluck and didn't have time to bake, so i made up this super rich frosting in a flash, cooled it slightly, and piped it on store bought plain cupcakes with a sprinkle of toffee bits on top. they were a huge hit at the party! this frosting was so easy to make and the perfect consistency. i used regular 2% milk, and melted the chips in the microwave with no trouble. not too sweet, and the slight tang of the cream cheese was delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Loved the smooth texture and slight tang. I did add more powdered sugar since I used 60% cacao chips. I probably added 3/4 c. sugar total. I also added about 3 T. butter to make the frosting creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
AWSOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Awesome frosting!!!! It was a quick and easy way to spice up a box cake mix. Everyone loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This was just ok. The texture I ended up with was more greasy than creamy. Too semi-sweety, would use milk chocolate chips instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinlairen

Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States