Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I used the Ghiradelli chips 60% cacao bittersweet and the result was marvelous! You get that dark chocolate flavor of the Ghiradelli blended with the cream cheese and it was sublimely perfect. I used it with devil's food cupcakes for my son's birthday and it was a hit with the party! Plus taking only a few minutes to prepare is awesome too. I microwaved the chips slightly (15 seconds at a time before adding it to the 1/4 c. of cream in a pan over low heat) With quality chips you need to be careful they don't get too heated and only get to the "just melted" stage. They are done in the microwave when they still retain their shape but collapse when touched or mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Turned out really good the first time I made it. If you're having trouble with the double boiler method i found that scalding the mild and adding it to the chocolate chips worked the same way, if not better. Similar to making a ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
the is the best frosting in the entire universe! it was so easy and tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made as is, was very good. I used this to frost a chocolate cake, and it was not too sweet. I prefer traditional chocolate icing, but I made this one and my husband said it was the best part of the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
this is good, but needs a lot more sugar, otherwise it tastes bitter. I used about an extra 2 c of confectioners sugar. I didn't have whipping cream, so I used whole milk. very creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Simply amazing...or should I say simple and amazing?! The best of both worlds, chocolate & cream cheese frostings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
loved it-made it also with milk chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This frosting is great! Chocolate and cream cheese are a match made in heaven. But like everyone else has said, this is not a sweet frosting. It is very rich and chocolatey though. Perfect for lovers of dark chocolate. I iced some chocolate cupcakes with this frosting and the girls in my dance group loved it! Definitely try this if you love chocolate and cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c00kie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I just made the frosting half an hour ago, and now have it chilling in the freezer to use tomorrow. This frosting is PERFECT for my chocolate-loving, frosting-hating mom. JUst lovely. This is the first time I've ever used a double boiler, so easy! Thank you for the comment at the top on double-boiler instructions!! I am so darn excited to frost Vegan Vanilla Cupcakes (best cupcakes I have EVER had, you MUST try them!!) with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lunar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Not your conventional super sweet frosting (I'm not a fan of sugary frostings), but I made it as directed and it works beautifully with a dense/dark chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States