Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Loved this! My changes were: Whole milk in place of evaporated and 1TBSP more than called for; 1 tsp softened smart balance butter; 2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder to give it a deeper chocolate taste that helps detract from the powdered sugar flavor. I also think this icing is best when left refrigerated overnight so that the flavors have a chance to mingle, but this isn't absolutely necessary. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I made this frosting for some Devils food cupcakes. I had way too much left over but that's not a bad thing at all! It taste great, very smooth. I used half the sugar and added 1 1/2 Tbls sour cream, I also used lite cream cheese to cut down on the fat, cannot taste a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I've made this recipe several times and loved it each and every time (even cut it in half). As I do with every frosting recipe is always taste as I add the sugar because I often find Frostings too sweet for my liking (so I did not end up adding the full 4 cups). I've also used the evaporated milk as the recipe calls for, half and half and just plain milk...good each and every time :). Easy to pipe onto cupcakes as well - Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Before I baked this cake, I baked another, using all my eggs, butter, and for some reason baked a couple of cupcakes to taste it-Thank goodness- as I took one bite and spit it out- realized I forgot the sugar- absolutely the worst cake I ever tasted- found this recipe with not eggs, butter etc. and saved the day for my neices' birthday- Thank you Allrecipes!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kapikahi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I made this frosting to put on my husband's birthday cake. It was a hit! I found it easy to make too. I was a little short on ingredients and ended up using 3 squares of chocolate and just over 3 cups of sugar. It still turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
very good on anything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This was great! Came out perfect! I did use some milk chocolate chips and it still received excellant reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
While this frosting had an excellent consistency, the taste of the unsweetened chocolate was far too bitter for my family's tastes. I'm sure a dark chocolate lover would probably enjoy the chocolate "punch" this frosting provides, but it just wasn't for me. I would like to try it again with semi-sweet chocolate and I think it would be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I used bittersweet chocolate chips, added orange flavoring, and stirred in some coca to make it thicker. Good taste. It needs more vanilla to soften the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States