Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I made this frosting to put on my husband's birthday cake. It was a hit! I found it easy to make too. I was a little short on ingredients and ended up using 3 squares of chocolate and just over 3 cups of sugar. It still turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
very good on anything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This was great! Came out perfect! I did use some milk chocolate chips and it still received excellant reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
While this frosting had an excellent consistency, the taste of the unsweetened chocolate was far too bitter for my family's tastes. I'm sure a dark chocolate lover would probably enjoy the chocolate "punch" this frosting provides, but it just wasn't for me. I would like to try it again with semi-sweet chocolate and I think it would be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I used bittersweet chocolate chips, added orange flavoring, and stirred in some coca to make it thicker. Good taste. It needs more vanilla to soften the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
My theory in life--cake was invented so we would have something to put frosting on!! I absolutely love cream cheese frosting but never tried a chocolate version until this one. Why, I don't know. It can't get any better than this!! I've made this twice so far, didn't have squares of chocolate the second time. Used the substitution of 3 level T. cocoa to 1 T. oil and it worked fine. Used neufchatel (less fat) cheese to lessen my guilt:-) Also 1% milk. Turned out SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
perfect! substituted half and half because I didn't have evaporated on hand. Magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARLEESMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I had never tried a Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting before, and a co worker requested it on her Birthday cake this year. Must say it was pretty darn good, and will use this recipe again soon, thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This worked out wonderfully. I made several changes though. I doubled everything but the sugar. I only added 4 cups instead of 8 after doubling. I also used semi sweet chocolate instead of unsweetened. I completely left out the milk. The consistancy was thick enough that I could spread and pipe decorations on top. When I finished I put the whole cake in the refridgerator. The icing became a rich "fudge" that encased the cake. It tastes amazing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Yum! This frosted 24 cupcakes, and I still have a bunch leftover. Perfect excuse to make more cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States