Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Well this was just sinfully good! I wonder if the reviewers who found this frosting bitter realized that there is supposed to be one tablespoon of vanilla in this recipe. I almost bypassed that myself and would have tossed in the usual teaspoonful. The only problem I encountered with this recipe was in the mixing. However, I must admit that I didn't let the cream cheese come to full room temperature. Also I don't have a stand mixer which would have helped as this is a very sturdy frosting! Anyway, a couple more tablespoonfuls of evaporated milk took care of my problem. Try this on one of the dark chocolate cake recipes from this site. It's to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Very good frosting! I didn't think it was bitter but then again I love chocolate. I made it exactly as stated in the recipe and it frosted a 9" 2 layer cake. Very good recipe, I'll keep this one for lots of cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Willard, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This recipe turned out great for me! The best part about it is that it's not too sweet. For those of you who are the type to scrape some of the frosting off your birthday cake. This is the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Love the cream cheese tang and it spreads beautifully. My only problem is that I ran out for my 3-layer 8-inch-round cake. Will use again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine jellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I have made this many times and everyone loves it. I use it on all different types of cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
The recipe turned out and was very easy to prepare. I think a little less chocolate would be ok. It was a little bitter. I added about 1/4 cup of white sugar and it helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherry Rae
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This was very quick and easy to whip up and spread over a layer cake. I used half fat cream cheese for a less-sinful result. I also only used around 1/3 of the sugar suggested. Even with a small amount of confectioners sugar it was a great consistency. I used 87% cocoa swiss chocolate and also added a couple of squares of white vanilla chocolate instead of using condensed milk. I changed the servings to 6 as I was frosting an 8 inch layer cake and it was to be swirled with the Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting. I had a tonne left over so it was more than enough; I think there would have been plenty to frost the 8inch layer cake on it's own. This was all used on the "Fudge Cake" recipe. It was so rich and delicious. It was perfect for a special occasion cake (in this case a birthday). I actually found the frosting quite tangy, but this might be because I didn't use condensed milk and I cut the sugar so much. I do like a good tangy frosting. I would recommend this to anyone who is a chocolate lover, and I think it would probably actually work best on a non-chocolate cake in order to appreciate it fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
I made this to go on a chocolate cake-- Dark Chocolate Cake I, I think, but I'm not sure-- and it was pretty good. I was looking for a more cream cheesier taste, as this was quite fudgey, but it wasn't a bad taste; just not exactly what I was looking for. Very rich and smooth. It just barely covered 3 layers, but the frosting and cake were soooo moist and chocolatey together there was no need for excesses of frosting (though I am fond of them). I would definitely make this again to frost a dark chocolate cake for a quasi death-by-chocolate experience. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: May 27, 2006
SO good! It turned out thick and rich, almost like a fudge icing. I used it to frost David's yellow cake, also from this site. Beautiful combo. I was short one square of chocolate, so I used 3 TBS. cocoa powder + 1 TBS. butter and melted it with the rest of the chocolate. This recipe worked out very well in my Kitchenaid. I made it for my little guy's 2nd birthday today, and he loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I made this to put on a Chocolate Angel Food Cake. It was very good. I made this exactly as the recipe said. I wouldn't change a thing with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States