Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is great! My great aunt had a wonderful chocolate frosting that I loved and it was not sickenly sweet, like most are. This recipe is the closest I've found to hers yet. Loved it loved it! I used milk because I didn't have evaporated milk or half & half on hand. No problems and the kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Only 4 stars since I altered the recipe to make it a mocha frosting by adding 1T of instant coffee to the chocolate and I also added heavy cream instead of the evaporated milk. Still wonderful in my dark choc cake as a filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This icing was so yummy. I had only 85% chocolate so I added some cocoa and 2 tbsp of butter to the icing. I also left out the salt. It came out creamy and every one loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
The best frosting I've ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I melted the chocolate in the microwave & used regular milk instead of evaporated. I halved the recipe (enough for a 9 x 13 cake) and didn't want to open a whole can for such a small amount of milk. Everyone loved this - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Super tasty! Nice and rich and full! I followed people's advice and used a little less sugar (more like 4 1/2 cups)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Luscious is the best way to describe this frosting. As I read through the recipe I was a little skeptical about the fact that it called for no butter, and indeed, as I mixed it up, I couldn't help but add a couple of tablespoons which I found made this a lot creamier. Rather than opening up a can of evaporated milk for such a small amount called for, I simply used half and half (milk would be fine too) until I had the desired consistency to pipe it onto "Banana Cupcakes," also from this site. Rich, chocolatey, creamy and not too sweet, this was simply perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
On my tongue, I first tasted sweetness. Then came the tang of cream cheese. This was followed by a slight bitterness that is often characteristic of chocolate. Complex flavor and very smooth. Not your usual chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This tastes wonderful! I've made it a couple times now, and here are a couple things I've learned from my mistakes: (1) Don't add much milk to thin it -- just keep beating it with the mixer. (2) You can substitute orange liqueur instead of vanilla, and/or add pumpkin pie spice. (3) The pumpkin spice and orange liqueur mix added to frosting is really good over the Chocolate Pumpkin Cake recipe on this site. (4) It's hard to not lick your fingers with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Fabulous! I don't usually like to alter a recipe too much before I've tried it once, but since I didn't have unsweetened chocolate, I had to. I only used half the sugar and doubled the chocolate using semi-sweet chocolate chips. Turned out perfectly rich and chocolatey and I will use this all the time! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States