Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
Excellent recipe and easy. You can substitute half-n-half or milk if you don't have evaporated milk. Not too sweet and very creamy, but I had to add a little more half-n-half to get the consistency I wanted. And it's more than enough to cover a large cake and sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2000
I made this to top a Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake for a friend. Everyone LOVED it, and mentioned that the frosting wasn't sickeningly sweet. Now they all think I'm a gourmet baker! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This frosting is out of this world yummy. My husband asked for some brownies with frosting and i found this recipe. I made half a batch and it was more than enough for a 9 x 13 pan even though he likes a lot of frosting. Thanks for a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Loved this recipe! The only substitution I made was heavy cream for the evaporated milk. I only used the cream since I had some left in the fridge from another recipe and wanted to use it up. Not sure if the cream made it taste different . . . but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
It was so good I ate it out of the bowl by the spoonful, shame on me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I made this to put on a Chocolate Angel Food Cake. It was very good. I made this exactly as the recipe said. I wouldn't change a thing with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
This frosting is really yummy. Very smooth and tasty. Very easy to whip-up. I would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: May 27, 2006
SO good! It turned out thick and rich, almost like a fudge icing. I used it to frost David's yellow cake, also from this site. Beautiful combo. I was short one square of chocolate, so I used 3 TBS. cocoa powder + 1 TBS. butter and melted it with the rest of the chocolate. This recipe worked out very well in my Kitchenaid. I made it for my little guy's 2nd birthday today, and he loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I have made this many times and everyone loves it. I use it on all different types of cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Love the cream cheese tang and it spreads beautifully. My only problem is that I ran out for my 3-layer 8-inch-round cake. Will use again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine jellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States