Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I found this frosting to be super sweet, a little gritty (yes I did use icing sugar) and it did not have a strong enough flavor of chocolate. Next time, I will cut the sugar, add coco powder and a little butter to tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lizee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrookeJohnsonRichardson
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
It was delicious, couldn't stop licking the bowl!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeJohnsonRichardson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
good, but a bit bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Poulos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Good stuff. Complimented a dark chocolate cake well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I tweaked this a bit. Had a box of Wilbur semisweet and milk chocolates (kind of like hersey kisses) so I melted a full cup of those with 2 tablespoons of butter and added that to the whipped cream cheese. I only added a cup of powdered sugar since I didn't need the sweetness. No milk, since I had the butter. It was very good, creamy and spread easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen Thomas Poore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I prepared this recipe for layering a cake and prepping it for fondant. It has wonderful flavor, and after a long bit of sitting in between work of many layers and fondant preparations, I added just a bit more condensed milk and mixed again which turned out to be very helpful. The only note I might add is to not get too worried about how dry and hard the frosting is before adding the milk. I used my mixer and started to worry it wasn't going to turn out right when the mixer started to struggle. I might consider alternating between adding milk and powdered sugar to prevent this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Ummm.... It didn't really turn out as good as I thought it would... It was impossible to spread on to the cake that I made!! When I looked at the picture I thought it would by a little more liquidy and easy to spread on to a cake but noopee!! And the taste wasn't that special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
i had no idea how easy it is to make your own frosting..this was superb..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzie q

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I used semi-sweet chocolate, a little butter and half'n'half (as it was what I had on hand). The frosting was "gorgeous" as my English husband said! Very rich, sweet and topped the chocolate cake in a lovely way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherriJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Amazing. I normally use another chocolate frosting recipe from this website, but, for her 12th bday, my daughter Jennah asked for chocolate cream cheese frosting for her cake, so the search began. I ended up with this one. I think it has a really gourmet cocoa flavor. You don't taste the cream cheese a ton, but it is seriously luscious. In fact, its my fave now, and everyone at the party agreed. It does have a slightly bittersweet taste as someone mentioned, but I don't think that is a bad thing, I think it adds to the flavor. I just subbed regular milk for the evap since I didn't want to open a can for 2 tbsp. worked fine, nice and creamy and perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States