Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I made this recipe and followed the ingredients to a certain point. I used all but 2 squares of a Ghirardelli white chocolate baking 4 oz. bar and about 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips. I also added 4 TBSP of unsalted butter as some reviewers suggested. Then, when I got to the evaporated milk, we had none. I decided to add some coffee and milk, so about 2 TBSP hot coffee, cooled down with an equal amount of milk. This did affect the consistency, so I added some cocoa powder and powdered sugar til we thought the flavor and consistency was what we were pleased with. It was fabulously delicious! I think the point is that this recipe is easy, good, and can be played with and not affect the deliciousness or use of the frosting. I frosted 24 large and 12 small chocolate cupcakes from the Chocolate Cake II recipe on this site. They were all devoured at my husband's 50th birthday celebration yesterday. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This a great recipe; You can make it sweeter if you so desire by using semi sweet choco chips instead of all the dark chocolate. I didn't, because sweet makes me gag. It is so easy a child could do it. You also do not evap. milk as any milk will do just fine. Any decent cook could figure a lot of this out. Thanks richardwass
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I found this frosting to be super sweet, a little gritty (yes I did use icing sugar) and it did not have a strong enough flavor of chocolate. Next time, I will cut the sugar, add coco powder and a little butter to tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lizee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrookeJohnsonRichardson
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
It was delicious, couldn't stop licking the bowl!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeJohnsonRichardson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
good, but a bit bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Poulos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Good stuff. Complimented a dark chocolate cake well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I tweaked this a bit. Had a box of Wilbur semisweet and milk chocolates (kind of like hersey kisses) so I melted a full cup of those with 2 tablespoons of butter and added that to the whipped cream cheese. I only added a cup of powdered sugar since I didn't need the sweetness. No milk, since I had the butter. It was very good, creamy and spread easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen Thomas Poore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I prepared this recipe for layering a cake and prepping it for fondant. It has wonderful flavor, and after a long bit of sitting in between work of many layers and fondant preparations, I added just a bit more condensed milk and mixed again which turned out to be very helpful. The only note I might add is to not get too worried about how dry and hard the frosting is before adding the milk. I used my mixer and started to worry it wasn't going to turn out right when the mixer started to struggle. I might consider alternating between adding milk and powdered sugar to prevent this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Ummm.... It didn't really turn out as good as I thought it would... It was impossible to spread on to the cake that I made!! When I looked at the picture I thought it would by a little more liquidy and easy to spread on to a cake but noopee!! And the taste wasn't that special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
i had no idea how easy it is to make your own frosting..this was superb..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzie q

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States