Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Great frosting recipe, extremely easy to make. For those who don't like super sweet frosting, I would recommend tasting the mixture while added the confectioner's sugar at half cup intervals. I stopped at two cups, and still my colleagues (who all love sweets) found it just slightly on the sugary side. Like many others, I didn't have evaporated milk and just used full cream milk. Had no problems with the consistency even with the changes. Turned out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I did not like this frosting! I would've used sweetened chocolate instead of unsweetened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovin This Shindig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This frosting is DIVINE. My only substitution was buttermilk for the evaporated milk and I loved the way it turned out. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
wonderful. I will never buy frosting again! thank you for this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This frosting was really good and very spreadable. I used the 1/3 fat neufchatel cheese rather than full fat cream cheese which still worked out well and tasted rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Delicious. I melted the chocolate squares in the microwave, which was so easy. I also didn't want to open a can of milk so I just used 2%. Worked just as well in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Whoops! I started to make this frosting before I realized that I didn't have nearly enough icing sugar. I substituted sem-sweet chocolate squares instead of the unsweetened ones and only added about 1/2 cup of sugar and it turned out great. I love a flexible recipe! I also added a heaping teaspoon of instant coffee as it was going onto a Mocha Chocolate Cake. I also put a little frosting aside and added some fresh blended raspberries for a layer in the middle of the cake. Oh my! The final product got rave reviews. A new Valentine's tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I used coconut milk instead of evaporated milk because I had some in the fridge that needed to be used. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This frosting was delicious i will make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is a great recipe. Smooth & creamy. Tastes wonderful. Makes a pretty cake. The one thing I did differently was, I substituted the squares of choc. with 2/3 cups of semi sweet choc. morsels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States