Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I used bittersweet chocolate chips, added orange flavoring, and stirred in some coca to make it thicker. Good taste. It needs more vanilla to soften the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
My theory in life--cake was invented so we would have something to put frosting on!! I absolutely love cream cheese frosting but never tried a chocolate version until this one. Why, I don't know. It can't get any better than this!! I've made this twice so far, didn't have squares of chocolate the second time. Used the substitution of 3 level T. cocoa to 1 T. oil and it worked fine. Used neufchatel (less fat) cheese to lessen my guilt:-) Also 1% milk. Turned out SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
perfect! substituted half and half because I didn't have evaporated on hand. Magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARLEESMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I had never tried a Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting before, and a co worker requested it on her Birthday cake this year. Must say it was pretty darn good, and will use this recipe again soon, thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This worked out wonderfully. I made several changes though. I doubled everything but the sugar. I only added 4 cups instead of 8 after doubling. I also used semi sweet chocolate instead of unsweetened. I completely left out the milk. The consistancy was thick enough that I could spread and pipe decorations on top. When I finished I put the whole cake in the refridgerator. The icing became a rich "fudge" that encased the cake. It tastes amazing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Yum! This frosted 24 cupcakes, and I still have a bunch leftover. Perfect excuse to make more cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Exactly what I was looking for! I used this to ice strawberry cupcakes (Strawberry dream cake from this website) and it was perfect. This is NOT a super sweet icing. Though if you used semi-sweet choc rather than unsweetened chocolate it might be sweeter. I also used milk (skim milk b/c that's all i had) instead of the canned evaporated milk and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was amazing. I did not have enough cream Cheese so I used some butter. I also did not have candy so I used 2 tbs cocoa powder. Turned out excellent. Spreads easily and was very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Great frosting recipe, extremely easy to make. For those who don't like super sweet frosting, I would recommend tasting the mixture while added the confectioner's sugar at half cup intervals. I stopped at two cups, and still my colleagues (who all love sweets) found it just slightly on the sugary side. Like many others, I didn't have evaporated milk and just used full cream milk. Had no problems with the consistency even with the changes. Turned out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I did not like this frosting! I would've used sweetened chocolate instead of unsweetened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovin This Shindig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States