Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I was disappointed with this frosting. I followed the recipe completely. The flavor was average. The consistency was thin. I guess if I experimented with it, I could make better. However, I don't think the base of the recipe was good enough to keep trying. I will look for another recipe when I need a frosting again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADCOOKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
have to admit i did alot of tweaking on this and boy did it pay off!! normally i try to stay within the peramiter of the recipe here and am glad i do but i have been sooo tired of the sugary icing as much as i like icing!! so what i did was use 12 oz chocolate melted, 2-8 oz cream cheese & 1 cup butter, and what a treat!!! delish!! have used with white, milk and semi sweet chocolate at different times on this recipe and all have been sooo good and not soo sugary!! try it u'll love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
If you're wanting a icing thats not too sweet, this is a real winner. Loved it and will use it many more times. Thanks. Yaba
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yaba
Living In: Ninety Six, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Pretty good. I think I should have mixed it on high a little longer because mine was a tad grainy. Not quite as smooth as I thought it should have been. Also, followed the recipe exactly and mine wasn't as dark a chocolate color as the picture shows. Better than store bought but may try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedbylove

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Everyone like this frosting except for me. I'm not much of a chocolate fan but I made this for my cousins birthday who of course loves chocolate. I didn't have the squares of chocolate so I substituted 3 Tbsp. cocoa powder plus 1 Tbsp.cooking oil or shortening for each 1 oz of chocolate needed(this is the formula Better Homes and Gardents gives).It actually worked very well and if it seems to thick just add more oil until the right consistency of melted chocolate. This recipe reminds me of Costcos chocolate cake if you've ever had that. Great recipe for CHOCOLATE LOVERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Delicious! Not too sweet, and very creamy! I love it how it is written, but I now add in a tablespoon and a half of butter and switch to half & half. This is one of the best frosting recipes I have found. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is great! My great aunt had a wonderful chocolate frosting that I loved and it was not sickenly sweet, like most are. This recipe is the closest I've found to hers yet. Loved it loved it! I used milk because I didn't have evaporated milk or half & half on hand. No problems and the kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Only 4 stars since I altered the recipe to make it a mocha frosting by adding 1T of instant coffee to the chocolate and I also added heavy cream instead of the evaporated milk. Still wonderful in my dark choc cake as a filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This icing was so yummy. I had only 85% chocolate so I added some cocoa and 2 tbsp of butter to the icing. I also left out the salt. It came out creamy and every one loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
The best frosting I've ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States