Chocolate-Cran-Oat Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I made this recipe in its original form and I felt it was "okay". Not great, but okay. I felt there was too much flour and too much chocolate (can there really be such a thing?). I also felt that the cranberries were a bit lost when it came to flavor.I tried the recipe again with a few tweaks because I felt it really had a lot of potential. I lowered the flour to one cup each of white and whole wheat. I added a teaspoon of vanilla, omitted the semisweet chips, added 1/2 teaspoon of cardamon, and added one teaspoon of fresh orange zest. The final result was beautiful. The final recipe gets 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Ive made this recipe twice and followed it to a T. The cookies are dee-lecious!! My husband and I can't stop eating them. The cranberries are much better than raisins in this oatmeal cookie. Love love love. And so easy to make. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Just finished making this recipe, and I ended up with 48 cookies instead (by using 1.5" scoop). Actually, I ended up with 46, but that's 'cause I ate two. :) Anyway...that aside...These are quite good, but I felt lacked *something*. Maybe a pinch of cinnamon. Or toasted pecans. Perhaps a tad more salt. I don't have time with holiday baking to go experimenting with it now, so I'm just going to melt a bit of white chocolate and drizzle the top for holiday flair and leave it at that! Also, these don't spread out much, and they kind of stayed in lump shapes when I baked them (after measuring with my scoop). I think next time I'll press them down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
These cookies are the best! I made them with my friends, and all of them agreed it was the best cookie they had ever eaten. Thank you so much for this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Riggs
Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krissta
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I really like these, but I feel that there is too much flour. I'll be trying these again with 2 cups instead of 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These are indeed thick, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Great cookie, full of flavour and character. Mine didn't spread out too much and stayed in the shape that I dropped them onto the sheet in so they looked a bit odd. Other than that, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Ok but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
These were excellent, however I did what I hate people do...really changed the original recipe. SORRY!! If you like to make things "healthier" keep reading. Changes I made include: 1/2 Butter-1/2 applesauce, added 1/4 white sugar, used 2C. Whole wheat flour + 1/4 C. White flour, used all white chips and dried cherries, added 1T. cinnamon, a few dashes of nutmeg and 2t. of vanilla extract. They were a cake like cookie that EVERYONE enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chefbound
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
these were really yummy. i didn't have semisweet chocolate chips or the recommended amount of cranberries or white chocolate chips but it still turned out yummy. they weren't quite done after 10 minutes so i baked them for about another 5 minutes or until they looked a little golden on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States