Chocolate-Cran-Oat Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
These cookies are delicious and keep getting better. Ok, so I sampled the dough and thought "this is pretty good stuff". then I tried one fresh out of the oven, it was warm and gooey and I thought "yum, this is a really tasty cookie." Well, now they've cooled a bit and the chocolate chips have set, and wow, the texture has improved what was already a tasty cookie. Silky firm rich chocolate, chewy tart cranberries, dough crispy on the outside, soft inside. The oatmeal and whole grain flour make me feel better about all the butter and sugar. And they are hearty, but they're not hockey pucks either they're still light. I am glad that took heed of the review that said these cookies don't spread and flattened them before baking. Thy this, its a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This are simply 'omg' cookies... I followed the recipe exactly.. used my kitchen aid with no problem. I just rolled the dough into a ball in my hand and slightly flattened. They are wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
I tried these cookies and I made the mistake of increasing the batch to make 48 servings. My Kitchen Aid mixer was straining at the end. These cookies are a little heavier than I would normally make. The dried cranberries make a nice holiday color. The recipe says to put rounded spoonfuls I had to guess at using a tablespoon The cookies are worth a try as they are tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I loved these! I substituted Splenda brown sugar blend and used entirely whole wheat flour and they still turned out great. My husband loved them and I also brought in a batch for my coworkers, who loved them as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zekele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
These cookies were very good. I reduced the white flour to only one cup which I think helped to eliminate the heaviness that an earlier reviewer mentioned. I was out of white chocolate chips so I used all semi-sweet chips. I think my "why do you have to ruin everything with whole wheat flour" high school student will really like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
These cookies are so yummy! I'm making them as we speak! The teachers at school are going to love them. One word though, they do not spread. I used a pampered chef scoop to put them on my stone to cook. Crispy & chewy cookie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
These were excellent, however I did what I hate people do...really changed the original recipe. SORRY!! If you like to make things "healthier" keep reading. Changes I made include: 1/2 Butter-1/2 applesauce, added 1/4 white sugar, used 2C. Whole wheat flour + 1/4 C. White flour, used all white chips and dried cherries, added 1T. cinnamon, a few dashes of nutmeg and 2t. of vanilla extract. They were a cake like cookie that EVERYONE enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Very tasty! I used them to make a quite original ice cream sandwich with two of these cookies and cinnamon ice cream. I added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon to make the cookies more compatible with the ice cream but other then that, made the recipe as written. Thanks! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I used all white chocolate chips and these were awesome. Not some wimpy little cookie. The oatmeal really makes them hearty, the cranberries adds twang, and the chips add creamy richness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RNKPFANNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These are indeed thick, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States