Chocolate Crackled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is a seriously good cookie recipe. Instead of a full stick of Crisco, I used half a stick of Crisco and a half a stick of butter. I mixed them really good to make sure I wouldn't have any butter chunks to make the cookies spread. I had various levels of crackle (I put a picture above of the cookies cooling) but I'll just save the least crackled ones for us. I'd love to better understand what makes some crackle more than others on the same tray. Flavor and texture is really nice. Chocolately, but not too rich. Highly recomended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These look pretty on a Christmas tray and go over well. They are easy to make too. I made these with my friend and we both enjoy them very much. Just make sure you don't over-bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Wow! What a delightful cookie! It's VERY chocolatey and VERY rich, but we like that around here. :) The outside is slightly crispy, but when you bite in, you encounter a soft, tasty cookie. Only change I made was to substitute the shortening for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I just made these and they actually made the 3 dozen as stated and I followed the recipe exactly aside from substituting the stick of butter. They are chocolately and delicious it will be hard for me to not eat all of them. If you love chocolate make these. The choc chips are gooey on the inside.....mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Crunchy outside, gooey, chocolatey inside. Very good for chocolate lovers. Important to remember 1 stick of Crisco is 1 c. as opposed to 1 stick of margarine being 1/2 c. - perhaps this is why others thought they were too sticky or too dry. Made exactly as written except that I used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa and they were just right. Don't skip the rolling in granulated sugar step. It makes the powdered sugar not soak into the cookies while baking and gives the snow capped look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Wow, these are fantastic! I don't use eggs and instead used a powdered substitute. I was also generous with the cocoa and had to add a bit of water but this recipe was fantastic. Very forgiving. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I just love it when someone claims to have followed a recipe "perfectly" except they did things differently in three ways, and then gives the recipe a poor rating-(don't you?) For those who aren't aware, a stick of Crisco is equal to 1 cup, so if you don't have the sticks, just measure out a cup and you're fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
My neighbor brought these to a Christmas party last night and I asked for the recipe. She pointed me here to allrecipes. These are wonderful cookies and the thing that made her's even better was that she added crushed peppermint to the center as soon as they came out of the oven. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I followed the recipe as written except I didn't refrigerate the dough. It was soft but workable with a delicate touch. Very good cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sambro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
The powdered sugar is what makes these so good--even little kids can help decorate them easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States