Chocolate Crackled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I just love it when someone claims to have followed a recipe "perfectly" except they did things differently in three ways, and then gives the recipe a poor rating-(don't you?) For those who aren't aware, a stick of Crisco is equal to 1 cup, so if you don't have the sticks, just measure out a cup and you're fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Photo by Susan
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Crunchy outside, gooey, chocolatey inside. Very good for chocolate lovers. Important to remember 1 stick of Crisco is 1 c. as opposed to 1 stick of margarine being 1/2 c. - perhaps this is why others thought they were too sticky or too dry. Made exactly as written except that I used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa and they were just right. Don't skip the rolling in granulated sugar step. It makes the powdered sugar not soak into the cookies while baking and gives the snow capped look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Delicious, super easy cookies. I substituted a stick of butter for the Crisco, and had no problems. They look just like the main picture! I also substituted butterscotch chips for the chocolate chips (since they were on sale) for delicious results. They are difficult to tell when they're done, but you can touch the tops with a fork - once they don't jiggle or move, they're done. For the curious: I know Crisco measures 1 stick = 1 cup, and butter is 1 stick = 1/2 cup, but for whatever reason, 1 stick of butter worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Delicious! I followed the recipe just as written and they came out perfectly. I divided my dough into thirds, working with just one portion at a time, keeping the others in the refrigerator. Can't wait for my husband to try one- he's the one who thinks if it's not chocolate, it can't be good! I'm predicting these will be on his favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Wow! What a delightful cookie! It's VERY chocolatey and VERY rich, but we like that around here. :) The outside is slightly crispy, but when you bite in, you encounter a soft, tasty cookie. Only change I made was to substitute the shortening for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Not sure what happened, but my batch didn't turn out anything like the positive reviews I'm reading. I probably overcooked them, since they're a little harder than I expected, but it was very hard to tell when I should pull them. Even the dough is "set" so I wasn't sure what I was looking for. I also had the issue that others had, with the powdered sugar turning into gluey sugar, even though I followed the recipe as written. Mine also didn't expand at all in the oven, although I'm not sure whether they're supposed to. After the first sheet, I pressed the cookies down a little on the baking pan, otherwise they came out just as spherical as when I put them in. Overall, the flavor's not bad, but the texture and specificity in the directions needed improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSAGER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonia, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
My neighbor brought these to a Christmas party last night and I asked for the recipe. She pointed me here to allrecipes. These are wonderful cookies and the thing that made her's even better was that she added crushed peppermint to the center as soon as they came out of the oven. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These turned really good, except not as pretty as the picture above. Thanks to the person that put in their rating about the one stick of crisco = one cup. I would've had no idea what one stick of crisco was, since ours only come in bricks. 4 stars. Only because of the recipe not being specific enough and causing me slight stress... haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I love these cookies with nuts in them. I knew them as Chocolate Pixies. They didn't have chocolate chips in them, but they did have nuts, a must have in my opinion. Chocolate and nuts go together very well. If these cookies had nuts I'd rate them 5 stars. They'd be too sweet for me without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These look pretty on a Christmas tray and go over well. They are easy to make too. I made these with my friend and we both enjoy them very much. Just make sure you don't over-bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States