Chocolate Crackled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
EXCELLENT!! Followed the recipe to at "T" except I did substitute 1 stick of butter for the shortening (not a big fan of shortening) Turned out perfect! I think the key to these cookies is you must chill dough as directed; I think that is why people may be having a hard time! Really does taste like a brownie cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Great recipe! I didn't chill the dough (I was being impatient!) and they still turned out yummy. Thanks for a good recipe on this rainy, dreary day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Wonderful! Brownie-like texture, excellent chocolatey flavor, and the sugar gives it a nice crisp, light crust. I used 1/2 cup of salted butter instead of shortening - if you do that, cut the salt down by 1/2, mine were a little on the salty side. I didn't have choc chips so left 'em out, but didn't miss 'em. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I am pretty disappointed in these cookies. I followed the recipe without changing anything and my cookies never spread. I tried flattening them a little with a glass the second time but they stayed small. The powdered sugar melted into the cookie even after rolling in granulated sugar first. I probably will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Excellent, big hit! Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I LOVE THESE COOKIES! I made 1-1/4 inch balls like it said,and they were huge! It only made 16 cookies, and they took about 12 minutes to bake, but they were DELICIOUS. Next time I'll make them smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I made a batch of these, and WOW did everyone go crazy over them. I recommend to anyone with a taste for some chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whinny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Very reminiscent of brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I made these exactly as directed and they did not look anything like the picture. I even did what another poster suggested and I rolled them in granulated sugar before rolling in 10x sugar. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I've made these a few times now and I've tweaked the recipe a bit. I melted the chocolate chips and mixed them into the batter and only used berry sugar on the outside. I'm not a fan of powdered sugar. I like them my way better but everyone has a different way of making things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quentcie Ottie

Displaying results 61-70 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States