Chocolate Crackled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I followed the exact recipe and I really regret that I didn't change anything on it. Putting butter would have been much better. Those taste too much like shortening and have the weirdest texture ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
1 stick of crisco?????? what is that. Not all readers are americans. In Spain crisco doesn't exist and when you calculate to the metric system it shows up the same. How much is one stick? Luckily another reader understood this and offered the information. Secondly I don't understand how you can rate a recipe as top when you change four of five things in the recipe. I appreciate the changes, but do not understand the rating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Delicious! I made these to add to my Christmas Assortment and used white chocolate chips and mint chocolate chips along with dark chocolate chips. They turned out perfect. Chocolate minty goodness covered in snow! This recipe is staying with me for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These cookies had a good flavor, however the powdered sugar ended up gooey. Not sure what went wrong. Followed directions exactly. Has anyone else had this problem? How do I correct it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
AWESOME! I think they would be good switching up the chips to white chocolate and/or adding some chopped almonds. but these rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
These are very tasty, reminded me of what a truffle would be like if you baked them. But they were very tricky to make. The powered sugar didn't coat the cookies like I wanted them to, it was kind of gooey, even though I followed the directions. Also, chilling the dough for 3 hours threw me for a loop because I made the dough, had the oven ready and then read that. The second time I made them I put them in the freezer for 45 minutes and that seemed to work the same as 3 hours in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karri-ann Flater

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Very good and easy!! Definately will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzieq78

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
GREAT COOKIES , MY KIDS LOVED THEM . JUST REPLACED THE SHORTNING WITH BUTTER, AND PLEASE WATCH THE COOKING TIME BECAUSE THEY GET SO HARD IF OVER COOKED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Really excellant cookie.Easy,used 1/2 cup crisco 1/2 cup unsalted butter.Thats just something I do for flavor.I can't wait to share with my lady friends,they like homemade goodies.Great Christmas cookie.Thanks for the calories...haha.Nancyjane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancyjane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These are a little too sweet, but really yummy. The kids loved them. Very easy to make. I wasn't sure about using the Cisco since I am a butter fan, but it turned out ok!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States