Chocolate Crackled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Disappointing Especially from "Crisco" as a trusted go to for cookies. Not chocolate enough flavor. Followed recipe but did not get the desired crackled effect so they looked ugly and lacked taste. Found a different recipe to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is a great recipe! I've made these twice now and have had no issues. My thoughts are that the bakers who have had trouble substituted ingredients or didn't follow the directions completely. Great recipe as is! If you don't like shortening remember its 2 sticks of butter (1 cup) to 1 stick of crisco!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chippewa1031

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Followed this recipe except I did 1 stick real butter and 1 stick of margerine. PERFECT! Good light crunch on the outside and sooo deliciously soft on the inside. My balls were bigger, though (haha) so I only got two dozen out of this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Son loves these, says they taste like chocolate donuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Ive made these cookies a handful of times from this recipe and they always come out wonderful!! and you dont have toadd chocolate chips and there still good!!! but today i tried something new instead of chocolate chips.......marshmallows!!!! OMG!!!!! YUMMMYYY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Was so excited to try this recipe, but something just didn't turn out. Not sure what went wrong, but they almost had a bland chocolate taste or as I call it, an "oops" taste that wasn't quite right. Also, my powdered sugar baked into the cookie and didn't have that pretty white color when they came out. I may try it again just to double check my baking and ingredient quality and see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I followed this receipe to the T. I used mini chocolate chips since the receipe did not specify. They do not resemble the picture at all. The icing sugar absorbed into the cookie and just baked on like a crust. They look grey and not at all white and fluffy looking. The double sugar makes them very sweet., and in order to serve these in a presentable way, I would have to dust them with more icing sugar! I also think packed brown sugar measures differently for every baker. It should be measured in grams or ounces for accuracy. The same goes for the cocoa - instead of counting out 6T. One individual commented on substituting half a cup of butter instead of 1 cup of crisco - that's quite a difference in fat and calories. Receipe should be modified or deleted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I think I've figured out why these may look "oily" or "gooey" on top (when the powdered sugar disolves into the oil in the cookie and the cookie looks more glazed or soggy than white and chocolate crackled). This occurs when the cookie is underbaked. I put the oily-looking ones back in the oven to finish cooking and sprinkled new powdered sugar on top, and they looked much better, and were very tasty. FYI, I originally cooked them 10 minutes in a pre-heated oven, however some of them were slightly larger than 1-1/4" which would have necessitated a longer cooking time. Flavor was very good, both fully- and slightly under-cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States