Chocolate Crackled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These cookies were super tasty, especially right out of the oven. My husband and I agreed that they taste like brownies with a little crunch! I followed the recipe and like some of the others, my cookies didn't look exactly like the picture, the powdered sugar seemed to turn a little clear in spots and absorb into the cookie. But it tasted good all the same. The chocolate chips made it VERY chocolatey, which is more than the husband and I like so next time I think I'll leave the chocolate chips out and instead add walnuts. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Wow, these are fantastic! I don't use eggs and instead used a powdered substitute. I was also generous with the cocoa and had to add a bit of water but this recipe was fantastic. Very forgiving. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by manchan48
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I followed the recipe for these cookies and I think they taste wonderful. My only issue with them was that the powdered sugar wasn't quite so powdery after they were baked and looked like the crisco absorbed some of it and made it look a little wet. I did roll it in the white sugar first, too. I'm not sure how to correct that issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chariton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I followed the recipe as written except I didn't refrigerate the dough. It was soft but workable with a delicate touch. Very good cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sambro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These turned really good, except not as pretty as the picture above. Thanks to the person that put in their rating about the one stick of crisco = one cup. I would've had no idea what one stick of crisco was, since ours only come in bricks. 4 stars. Only because of the recipe not being specific enough and causing me slight stress... haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Wow! What a delightful cookie! It's VERY chocolatey and VERY rich, but we like that around here. :) The outside is slightly crispy, but when you bite in, you encounter a soft, tasty cookie. Only change I made was to substitute the shortening for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Light and crispy. I liked them and the kids enjoyed rolling them in the sugars to 'help out'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Leicestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Wilton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Crunchy outside, gooey, chocolatey inside. Very good for chocolate lovers. Important to remember 1 stick of Crisco is 1 c. as opposed to 1 stick of margarine being 1/2 c. - perhaps this is why others thought they were too sticky or too dry. Made exactly as written except that I used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa and they were just right. Don't skip the rolling in granulated sugar step. It makes the powdered sugar not soak into the cookies while baking and gives the snow capped look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I just love it when someone claims to have followed a recipe "perfectly" except they did things differently in three ways, and then gives the recipe a poor rating-(don't you?) For those who aren't aware, a stick of Crisco is equal to 1 cup, so if you don't have the sticks, just measure out a cup and you're fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These look pretty on a Christmas tray and go over well. They are easy to make too. I made these with my friend and we both enjoy them very much. Just make sure you don't over-bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States