Chocolate Crackled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These turned really good, except not as pretty as the picture above. Thanks to the person that put in their rating about the one stick of crisco = one cup. I would've had no idea what one stick of crisco was, since ours only come in bricks. 4 stars. Only because of the recipe not being specific enough and causing me slight stress... haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Wow! What a delightful cookie! It's VERY chocolatey and VERY rich, but we like that around here. :) The outside is slightly crispy, but when you bite in, you encounter a soft, tasty cookie. Only change I made was to substitute the shortening for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Light and crispy. I liked them and the kids enjoyed rolling them in the sugars to 'help out'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinckley, Leicestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Wilton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Crunchy outside, gooey, chocolatey inside. Very good for chocolate lovers. Important to remember 1 stick of Crisco is 1 c. as opposed to 1 stick of margarine being 1/2 c. - perhaps this is why others thought they were too sticky or too dry. Made exactly as written except that I used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa and they were just right. Don't skip the rolling in granulated sugar step. It makes the powdered sugar not soak into the cookies while baking and gives the snow capped look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I just love it when someone claims to have followed a recipe "perfectly" except they did things differently in three ways, and then gives the recipe a poor rating-(don't you?) For those who aren't aware, a stick of Crisco is equal to 1 cup, so if you don't have the sticks, just measure out a cup and you're fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These look pretty on a Christmas tray and go over well. They are easy to make too. I made these with my friend and we both enjoy them very much. Just make sure you don't over-bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I love these cookies with nuts in them. I knew them as Chocolate Pixies. They didn't have chocolate chips in them, but they did have nuts, a must have in my opinion. Chocolate and nuts go together very well. If these cookies had nuts I'd rate them 5 stars. They'd be too sweet for me without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
The powdered sugar is what makes these so good--even little kids can help decorate them easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
The dough was sticky and gooey before I put it in the fridge for 3 hours, and then it came out stiff and easy to mold into balls. I followed the instructions perfectly (except I did not use a separate bowl for the dry ingredients, and I did not have baking soda so I substituted baking powder instead [double the amount of soda called for] and omitted the salt). These cookies turned out a little bit dry and vaguely crumbly, but they taste good. Perhaps I need to adjust it further since I live at 8,500ft above sea level and things tend to dry faster up here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manitou Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-119 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States