Chocolate Crackled Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
VERY good! I made a few changes ~ I used 2 sticks of butter instead of Crisco, substituted 1 cup flour for 1 cup quick-cooking oatmeal, and substituted the cocoa powder for 3 packets of sugar-free hot cocoa mix. Still came out great! Since the cocoa mix was quite sweet though, I cut the brown sugar down to one cup and omitted the granulated sugar completely. DELISH! I will definitely be making these again. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Excellent recipe - worked very well for me! Loved them 5-7 minutes out the oven, the centres were so gooey and soft. Can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Heaven in a cookie. I made these as a Christmas cookie and was very surprised at how good they are. They are very rich but go great with a glass of milk (just what Santa wanted).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I made these as directed, but used white chocolate chips. I made a double batch, and my only problem is they may not last until Christmas! Hubby keeps sneaking into the kitchen, and everyone who has dropped in today has sweetly asked for more. These will be added to the traditional cookies I make every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Mine did not turn out as beautiful as the ones in the picture... They were a lot of fun to make, though! I followed the recipe as it said, but the balls seemed to absorb the powdered sugar, and I made sure to cover them completely with sugar then powdered... they didn't flatten much either. But they're still yummy... I'm a little disappointed with the presentation, but other than that; fantastic cookies! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Very good, but very messy when rolling the cookies into balls. These freeze very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These are really good and SUPER EASY. Mine came out just as pictured =) Also, I took them to a cookie exchange and they were awarded "Number 1 Yummy Cookie".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine Conroe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These are very good and very easy to make made a batch night before last and hubby has eaten almost all of them. i did add finely chopped walnuts to them. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherann67

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Delicious, super easy cookies. I substituted a stick of butter for the Crisco, and had no problems. They look just like the main picture! I also substituted butterscotch chips for the chocolate chips (since they were on sale) for delicious results. They are difficult to tell when they're done, but you can touch the tops with a fork - once they don't jiggle or move, they're done. For the curious: I know Crisco measures 1 stick = 1 cup, and butter is 1 stick = 1/2 cup, but for whatever reason, 1 stick of butter worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Very easy and tasty. I also had the problem of the powedered sugar melting into the cookie and I rolled them in the granulated sugar first. I think next time I will dip them in the powdered sugar after baking while they are still warm. Maybe that will achieve the "snowcapped" look. I will for sure make these again- my kids realy are enjoying them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States