Chocolate Crackle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
These cookies reminded me of a chocolate cinnamon cookie that I made in baking school. The Dutch-processed cocoa is a must! If they are too hard, then you cooked them too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Great recipe! Thanks for sharing it. Followed the recipe to a tee. Great for making sandwich cookies or chocolate crust for cheesecake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These turned out great! I used Maple Syrup instead of the corn syrup and rolled the cookies in powdered/icing sugar and they were delicious. Soft and chewy and a big hit with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shrrlygrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Spectacular! Roll in granulated sugar, then 10X sugar for best appearance. Only makes about 15 cookies-double or triple batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Very good!!!Delicious, they are for sure! I would suggest that the sugar to roll them in MUST be poweder white so after the baking the carkles will be more obvious! They are perfect with a cup of coffe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corfu, Ionian Islands, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
When I made these the "dough" was like cake batter. I added a lot more flour and it still was not the consistantcy of dough. What did I do wrong? The cookies that resulted tasted good but I had to drop them, instead of roll them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
The batter was almost like a mousse, and it didn't have a deep chocolate taste, so instead of adding flour, I added about a quarter cup of unsweetened cocoa powder and chilled the batter till it firmed up just a little. If you're going to roll it in confectioner's sugar, put a thick layer to get that bright white spotted look, otherwise it just cooks into the cookie. Once I tasted the cooked cookie, I remember a packaged cookie that's very similar in taste, but had that granulated sugar with the slightly bigger chrystals on it. That's the route I'm going next time for these super tasty cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2000
The dough was a little too thick but the powered sugar made up for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
No matter what I tried, I couldn't get the pretty white crinkling effect to the extent as shown in the photo. :( I subbed 1/2 cup cocoa for 1/2 cup flour, but should've added the extra flour anyway. They were very mousse-like, like another reviewer said, and hard to roll in the granulated and then powdered sugar. Next time I'll use more flour; maybe that'll help with the crinkle look. Flavor (with the extra cocoa) was very good. I am rating this on what I expect the original recipe would have been without the cocoa. I think it needs the extra chocolate flavor - I'd rate it a 4 if it had that as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
These cookies came out too hard and tasting like pure sugar, way too sweet - we couldn't even taste the chocolate at all. It was like putting a spoonful of sugar in your mouth. I read another review which mentioned confectioner's sugar (powdered sugar) - I took the recipe above to mean granulated sugar, maybe that was the mistake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States