Chocolate Covered Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Thanks for the tip on setting the chocolate covered strawberries upside-down. I didn't have Styrofoam so I used an upside down egg carton. I recommend poking holes using a pin rather than trying to poke the toothpick through. Also, next time I will watch the chocolate more carefully so as not to let it steam and therefore lose its smoothness. Based on my attempts plus other reviews, once the chocolate is overheated, there's no fixing it. The all recipes article on tempering chocolate was very helpful. Thanks for all the helpful reviews! The flavor of my finished product was still very tasty and I'll make these again with and without shortening. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I did these with white chocolate chips. Dipped the strawberries about half way up the berry, then rolled the tips of the berries in blue tinted sugar. Voila! red, white and blue strawberries for a Memorial Day picnic. My grand daughter and I did these among lots of giggling and dripped chocolate and named them the best of the whole meal. My daughter said she never even got a taste! We'll do this again for July 4th and I'll post a picture. They really look great for the American holidays. If I can find strawberries at Christmas we plan to do them with a little bit of green sugar to make a red, white and green theme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
made these for my single male roommates and I last Valentine's day. They're tedious but delicious and fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkkaroline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Thanks to all the reviews - this came out perfectly for me! I used Hershey semi-sweet chocolate chips & the recommended amount of shortening melted in a pyrex bowl/pot of simmering water until the chocolate melted. I made sure the bottom of the pot didn't touch the water and stirred a few times. It was easy to dip and twirl the strawberries. I used a toothpick for a few but it ended up seeming unnecessary. Plus I actually LIKE the flat bottomed choc-covered berries, so they don't slide around on serving platter. The crisco make the chocolate nice and shiny. I was able to cover 3 lbs of strawberries with 16 oz (2+ cups) and I had some leftover chocolate which I drizzled over pretzels I had in the house - delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
These are delicious! I like to make one batch of milk chocolate strawberries and another batch of dark chocolate ones mmm Based on the other comments, here are some useful tips: Use half milk chocolate chips (or dark) and half semi-sweet chocolate chips. Use 1T of shortening instead of 2. Make sure the strawberries are completely dry before dipping them in the chocolate. The chocolate shouldn't be too hot, so take the bowl off of the heat when the chocolate chips have been mostly melted Use 2 toothpicks when dipping bigger strawberries. Lay the strawberries on wax paper and place them in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I just ate one of the strawberries,soooooooooo good!They look good too. sometimes choc. covered strawberries don't look good, but these did! Will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
These were easy to make. I made them for my family on Valentines Day! They loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shan gie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I just finished making these for a party. It was so easy and fast. I used the styrofoam and that worked out great. Thank you for sharing your recipe. I will be making these again for open house in june!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bluffton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
An inverted colandar in lieu of the styrofoam worked great. Also, I used a sandwich sized ziplock bag with the corner snipped off (like a pastry bag) to apply melted white chocolate after the semi-sweet layer hardened in the fridge. It was too thick to drizzle from a spoon. Make sure you start off with ripe but firm strawberries for best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I know this annoys people, but I did not really follow the recipe. Just want to share what I did. I melted Lindt milk chocolate in the micowave in small batches, since it seizes up quick...and i just dipped the strawberries in them. Didnt even have a chance to cool them, theyw ere so yummy I was dipping and eating! Have to work on presentaton though, as the melted choc gets thick and it makes it hard to dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 849) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States