Chocolate Covered Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Not going to be near as hard on this recipe as some others were. Recipe should be halved for 1 pound of strawberries. You can learn this by reading the reviews first, but a lot of people, like myself, don't always do that. The next day the chocolate forms a hard shell and falls apart, the shortening could be increased, or add more butter to help keep chocolate softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Personally I don't care much for chocolate cover strawberries but, my girlfriend loved them and that's who they were for. Make sure you set on wax paper or something nonstick as the chocolate on the strawberries will stick to the plate in my case and half or more of the chocolate will come off or be stuck to the plate, I knew this but it was worse than I thought it would be. Also the shortening was put in with the chocolate to help it stick better to the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I made these for my hunni for Valentine's day and they came out perfectly! I had some leftover white and milk choclate and made chocolate covered pretzels! I used semi-sweet chips instead of milk chocolate. He loved them; they were gone in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baby coyote
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
My five-year-old daughter enjoyed helping her Mommy making these lovely looking strawberries for her Daddy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baby coyote

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I made this for my wife for Valentine's Day today and it was better than anything I could buy. I found large, sweet strawberries with the stem and used milk chocolate bars. I followed previous remarks and melted the shortening in the microwave and then added the chocolate bars. I microwaved the chocolate for 25 seconds and stirred to blend and kept this process until it was melted well. Strawberries were dipped in the chocolate and I placed them on parchment paper and in the fridge to cool and set. I also had cut-up fresh pineapple and dip it in the chocolate as well. They were delicious! Had a hard time keeping my son from eating them up before my wife came home. I will never buy store bought chocolate-covered strawberries again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 4lilchix
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Awesome!!! I have never tried to make chocolate covered strawberries before, but these turned out great for a first-timer!! Nixed the shortening and used the glass bowl over the sauce pan with the water about 1/2 inch from bottom of glass pan for the double-boiler. Piped the white chocolate with the ziplock- worked like a charm! I need some more practice-definitely not "Shari's Berries" material, but not too bad for the first time! I know my girlies and hubby will LOVE them! Thank you everyone for your suggestions! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Really worked out well! Very easy and delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Patten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Some more tips for making these lovely berries: 1. Pick strawberries with lovely green leaves, if possible. 2. Wash the strawberries carefully. 3. Place them on paper towels to dry. If, after they are dry, you notice any "red" left over on the paper towel, sit these berries to the side for "practice" or "test" berries: if the skin is bruised or broken they will continue to let the juice out and weaken the integrity of the chocolate after they are dipped. These are the ones that you can practice on and test (eat!). 4. Make sure the berries are absolutely dry or the chocolate will not set well. 5. You can use a toothpick, as mentioned, OR you can pull the leaves straight up and use them as a handle. This will get them out of the way of the chocolate (who wants chocolate leaves lol). Dip and rotate so that the chocolate covers the berry 2/3 to 3/4 to the top. Lay them on one of the "flat" sides (on a waxed paper surface) to set. 6. To assure that the chocolate adheres well AND hardens quickly, you can chill you berries briefly in the fridge or freezer until the surface is cold. Just don't leave them in that environment too long or the berries will start to "sweat" as they return to room temperature and, well, you've got that problem of chocolate on a "wet" berry again. 7. You can dip them again, if you like...but be aware that the harder and thicker the chocolate shell, the more likely the chocolate will break and fall off the berries with each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
this was an awesome recipe!! toothpicks worked great! my first time I made chocolate strawberries. My first batch came out great but my second did not due to the fact that steam from my homemade double boiler got into the bowl so beware of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
too good 2 be true, to fancy too be real
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 849) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States