Chocolate Covered Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I used some white chocolate as well to decorate mine like tuxedo's. They were so cute for N.Y.'s eve and made a great impression. I think overall, that I prefer a ganache coating on strawberries, flavor wise and for other reasons. Don't make these too far ahead as the sugar reacts with the berry, which begins to change the flavor and cause 'weeping'. Best quality, fresh berries are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I never added shortening to my chocolate before and enjoyed the smoothness that it gave. We used red chocolate and white to strip it.Great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Delicious, quick and easy to make. I didn't add any shortening and the dipping went fine without it. I microwaved the chips in a small deep bowl for 2 minutes, checking every 30 seconds to see if the chips were melting and give them a stir. I put the dipped strawberries on parchment paper to cool the chocolate before putting them in the refrigerator to harden. I made a batch with 6 oz of semi sweet choco chips and a 2 oz batch with 60% cacao choco chips, which my husband likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made these for Christmas and put them on a Christmas tree styrofome cone. It looked beautiful! The chocolate melted perfectly. I did not wet my strawberries, but wiped them with a damp paper towel. There was no beading and it was quite impressive at the dinner table on Christmas day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I loved this recipe as did my sister. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of milk and used butter in place of shortening and upped it to 3 tablespoons. The only thing I have to say about this recipe is that a double-boiler is not necessary and using a small pot works just as well. I have never used a double-boiler and my chocolate has never seized or burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Great! I just wanted to try this out, so I went with a 1/4th recipe. I followed the recipe and but did not bother with the toothpicks or Styrofoam - I just put it on parchment paper. I also dipped dried fruit. My son is home from college and this is a big favorite for him. It is nice to be able to do it, without buying the special melting chocolate - some of which is not great quality. I melted it to just melting (still has some small lumps), and then took it off the stove, but left it in the double boiler, which kept the chocolate noce and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
So easy, so simple, and so delicious. Perfect for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Easy, I dont have a dble boiler, I used 2 pots and took the chocolate pot off when half way melted and stirred it until it melted. I used a little less than 2tbs butter instead of shortening and a 11.5 oz bag of chocolate chips. Yummy, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Excellent! Easy to work with... My daughter asked for them for her school birthday treat. Definately use the shortening for a smoother consistancy and a shinier presentation. I tried them with and without. It was easier to work with when shortening was used as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Didn't use any shortening and it worked out great! Didn't measure the temperature either - I melted 90% of the chocolate in a double boiler and when it was melted I added 10% of the chocolate OFF the double boiler. I then let the chocolate sit to cool off a tad and dipped the strawberries! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 849) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States