Chocolate Covered Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I had to make these on-camera for a video thing, and they were actually easy peasy! Of course it all starts with the strawberry. Taste one and make sure it's good all by itself, because chocolate can only do so much. The other thing I learned is dry your strawberries before you dip them so the chocolate can stick to the fruit. You're welcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Lazo Greaves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Joann
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I don't have a double boiler so I put a pyrex bowl in a pan of simmering water until the chips melted, and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
OMG I love Godiva chocolate covered strawberries, but they're so expensive, so I wanted to make my own, and these were great, instead of using a boiler, I put them in a microwave save dish and added the amount of veg oil required on the directions to melt them, and instead of using the styrofoam I layed them on wax paper and put them in the refridgerator for about 30 mins, I made a variety using coconuts and nuts and white chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reni87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Absolutely fabulous! Looked and tasted great :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I used some white chocolate as well to decorate mine like tuxedo's. They were so cute for N.Y.'s eve and made a great impression. I think overall, that I prefer a ganache coating on strawberries, flavor wise and for other reasons. Don't make these too far ahead as the sugar reacts with the berry, which begins to change the flavor and cause 'weeping'. Best quality, fresh berries are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I never added shortening to my chocolate before and enjoyed the smoothness that it gave. We used red chocolate and white to strip it.Great hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Delicious, quick and easy to make. I didn't add any shortening and the dipping went fine without it. I microwaved the chips in a small deep bowl for 2 minutes, checking every 30 seconds to see if the chips were melting and give them a stir. I put the dipped strawberries on parchment paper to cool the chocolate before putting them in the refrigerator to harden. I made a batch with 6 oz of semi sweet choco chips and a 2 oz batch with 60% cacao choco chips, which my husband likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made these for Christmas and put them on a Christmas tree styrofome cone. It looked beautiful! The chocolate melted perfectly. I did not wet my strawberries, but wiped them with a damp paper towel. There was no beading and it was quite impressive at the dinner table on Christmas day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I loved this recipe as did my sister. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of milk and used butter in place of shortening and upped it to 3 tablespoons. The only thing I have to say about this recipe is that a double-boiler is not necessary and using a small pot works just as well. I have never used a double-boiler and my chocolate has never seized or burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 834) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States