Chocolate Covered Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I have not made this recipe BUT i do make chocolate covered pretzels - the trick is to use CHOCOLATE BARK COATING. It adheres to the pretzels VERY well (better than chips and cream). I melt the chocolate bark over a double boiler so it doesn't burn and then dip the pretzel rod or round in the chocolate, lay them all on wax paper and put in freezer. Then after hard, I redip again, roll in crushed candy (peanuts, sprinkles, M&Ms, rieces peanuts, or drizzle melted white chocolate) and freeze until hard again. DELICIOUS and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
750 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Skip the cream it's not necessary. These are easy, delicious and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
How can you mess up chocolate covered pretzels? My two recommendations would be 1) you don't really need the heavy cream. 2) try milk chocolate instead of semi-sweet, it tastes so much better. DO NOT use the cream, both times I tried this the chocolate seized and I used expensive chocolate those times. Chocolate chips or Bakers chocolate is all you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by maureend
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Super easy! I used large pretzel sticks broken in half. Once covered in chocolate, I quickly sprinkled them with festive holiday sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
If you read the directions correctly, you will melt the chocolate and cream TOGETHER. Do not add the cream to the melted chocolate. That seems to be what most of the reviewers have done and why the chocolate seized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This worked perfectly. I'm not sure why others are having trouble with it. I tossed the pretzels into a large bowl with the chocolate and used a chopstick to pull them out. I spread them out on parchment to dry. Easy-peasey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Georgetown, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
i did not use the whip cream , it turned out amazing! I used Hershey bars instead of chocolate chips. So in the end, i changed the recipe and it tasted awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I used 1/4 cup milk instead of the cream and a tablespoon or so of NaVan (vanilla liqueur). I tossed all the pretzels in and picked them out with chopsticks, as another reviewer did. I believe the cream is supposed to give it a richer taste. Very good, and I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
They look and sound sooooooo delious!!!!! I can't wait to try them at my b-day party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
i skipped the heavy whipping cream, but this recipe was wonderful anyway. I even went so far as to coat some in peanut butter and then chocolate and they were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Justice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States