Chocolate Covered Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This didn't work for me - never thinned out enough and started to ball - I used shortning. I need to find a microwave recipe I used a year ago - it was perfect. for now, the choc's in a ball on the counter waiting for a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I first melted the chocolate on it's own and slowly added the whipping cream. The chocolate had a great consistency until I put in the cream and then it turned into a hard lump. It wouldn't even stick to my finger, let alone a pretzel. I added A LOT of butter and finally was able to get it to a dipping consistancy, bu tit still had lumps. Skip the whipping cream and just use butter or shortening. Also, if you are like me and read the reviews after trying the recipe and have your own chocolate lump, I crushed up some pretzels and peanuts and squished them into little chocolate lumps. The result did not look pretty but they tasted just as good as my end product. I also tried this recipe with white chocolate and ended up with a mess. I couldn't save that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Followed Norma Jean on this & mixed milk choco chips & white choco chips along with a tiny bit of vegetable oil in a double boiler. Was very easy & kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
the whipping cream made the chocolate hard to work with. Didn't like the recipe sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I like this treat...but this recipe seems a little too complicated. Have any of you ever tried Candiquik? It comes in chocoalte and vanilla and it is SO easy to use. Pop it in your microwave for a minute, stir, and use to cover pretzels, fruit, make barks, etc. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I have not made this recipe BUT i do make chocolate covered pretzels - the trick is to use CHOCOLATE BARK COATING. It adheres to the pretzels VERY well (better than chips and cream). I melt the chocolate bark over a double boiler so it doesn't burn and then dip the pretzel rod or round in the chocolate, lay them all on wax paper and put in freezer. Then after hard, I redip again, roll in crushed candy (peanuts, sprinkles, M&Ms, rieces peanuts, or drizzle melted white chocolate) and freeze until hard again. DELICIOUS and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
748 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Had the same problems with the chocolate not thin enough. After I stored them in a tin canister the pretzles became soft and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
The whipping cream ruins the chocolate. Do not follow it unless you want hard chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I ended up trading the whipping cream for white chocolate chips and it worked better for me. I melted semi-sweet chocolate squares and white chocolate chips in my double broiler. I dipped pretzel sticks instead of the traditional pretzels. Made 100s of these for cookie trays and it was a lot of work but got lots of compliments...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I followed the recipe for ingredients and it worked well. However, I melted the chocolate in a fondue pot and dipped pretzel rods broken in half. It was easy and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States