Chocolate Covered Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I dip my pretzels just like marieted's recipe, but I also make a batch of melted chocolate and add a splash of peppermint extract and dip my pretzels in the mixture. They taste just like girl scout cookies thin mints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Tried it this way, did not work out well. I will sticking to using melting wafers. They are so much easier to use. Pop in microwave, melt and dip. Done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
No matter what was added to the chocolate mixture, it never melted enough to dip pretzels in. I now have chocolate pretzel "clumps."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Here is a variation..with just the chocolate..Melt the chocolate either in the microwave or doubleboiler..if you overcook it will clump...add a few drops of peppermint oil (not extract) and dip and coat Ritz crackers.. I use a fork to lift out of bowl..scrape bottom of fork and give it a shake...put on wax paper to harden..coila..you have a perfect copy of Mint Chocolate Girl Scout wafers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
The EASIEST way to make these pretzels is to go to A.C.Moore or Michaels craft store & buy wafers in bags[milk chocolate, dark chocolate, white chocolate, white mint & colored wafers].Using DEFROST in microwave each bag 3 mins.STIR well... defrost again 3 mins. again stir till smooth. Do not let it burn! Dip pretzels & lay on parchment paper [taped to whole kitchen table]. Then melt white or colored wafers & swish on all tops of chocolate covered pretzels after they harden.[If using chopped nuts, perils etc. shake on pretzels BEFORE they harden].Let pretzels harden & set completely before storing. To store I layer them in large shoe boxes & place in a cool place. Do not freeze! Easy clean-up too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Great recipe. As one commenter said, the cream wasn't necessary. I used one bag of chocolate chips, heat over a double boiler, and was able to dip 2 bags of pretzels. Then topped them with sprinkles. They were a hit this Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neppers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Great for making for gifts at the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emeraldice
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I tried this recipe because I wanted to make chocolate covered pretzels for a gift and one of my recipients is allergic to nuts so almond bark was not an option. I didn't use semi-sweet chocolate chips so this could be the problem I had. I tried both white chocolate & milk chocolate chips and both of them I ended up adding a lot more heavy whipping cream than this recipe called for. I continued adding a little bit at a time until I could get the right consistency for dipping and the chocolate came together instead of being oily and broken looking. For the milk chocolate chips I finally ended up getting out my hand mixer to get it to come together properly. Even then after dipping a handful of pretzels I remixed to keep the consistency right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
If your chocolate turns lumpy, its because the chocolate you are using is of poor quality and has a low cacao butter content(candy bar chocolates, regular chocolate chips). Believe me, i've tried making ganaches and chocolate products with these before.. Use dark chocolate or good quality dark chocolate. I always use Lindt Excellence 70% cacao dark chocolate; it suits my taste perfectly. You can also use 65% cacao, and maybe try 50%? Also, if you can't find heavy cream, it is also called whipping cream in other places. Any cream product with a 30-35% fat content. You can also use double cream, which has an even higher fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States