Chocolate Covered Potato Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This recipe was delightful. Using two 12 ounce bags of milk chocolate chocolate chips made two cookie pans of these chocolate chips. They do break if you don't be gentle with the chips. To be gentle with the chips. Take a spoon full of melted chocolate and gently smother it on one side of the chip. Then turn it around then do the same thing with that side and put it on the cookie pan. Repeat that until the chocolate is gone. Let the chocolate eventually come to a hard like a candy bar. Another way to harden the chocolate in a fast way. Is to put in the refrigerator for at least 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking crazy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made these exactly as written. It's a good 'launching point'...the flavor is good and it's pretty easy. My 3 stars is based on the recipe as written. The second time I made them, I did so based on what I learned from the first time: I used candy coating discs with just a handful of chocolate chips thrown in. Great flavor and they set up much firmer than straight chocolate chips. No need to worry about the temperature...just whisk and 'nuke' til fully melted. I used ridged Kettle chips. They're sturdier, hold up better to the chocolate and you actually get a potato chip flavor afterwards. I held an end of the chip, dipped all but about 1/4 of the chip into the chocolate, gently wiped the excess chocolate off on the side of the bowl, laid the chip on a cooling rack (laid over a jelly roll pan) and added just a SMALL pinch of popcorn salt across the top. We're huge fans of the salty/sweet combo and this is the 'icing on the cake' for that. Allowed them to 'set' and stored in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Excellent gluten free snack! Love the salty/sweet combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I dipped half of the chip in chocolate and didnt bother with any drizzle ..... these were a huge yummy hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma3CSB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
try fritos.. that sweet salty thing is the best !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Perfect! These were a huge hit at a party I made them for tonight! First time so I followed the directions exactly and the results were..well, all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capntom52

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Good stuff! I've always been a huge fan of the sweet/salty combo, so these were right up my alley. I only dipped half the chip just to make it a little easier on myself since I was in a rush. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Been making these for a few years now and we prefer to use Wilton Candy Melts. The texture is better and you have holiday colors to add making them more festive. We also prefer to use a thick cut potato chip with ridges. Thin chips do not provide enough contrast between the salty and sweet flavors and the chocolate over powers in ratio to potato crunch. These are fun and easy to make and make a nice addition to our holiday cookie trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I really like the way a chocolate potato chip can taste, but I sometimes want a little more salt, so I swapped in pretzel chips, dipped them half way, and let them set up on a nonstick rack that allowed drainage. It worked out great, just the right balance for me. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I did not care for these, but my sister enjoyed them. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homestyle Potato Chips

See how to make crispy homemade potato chips.

Potato Chips

See how to make thin, crispy homemade chips in the microwave.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States