Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Wonderful. Tastes delicious and everyone i shared them with raved about them. I wrapped them up in little pieces of foil (like the real ones) and people couldn't believe i had made them! Make sure you have plenty of extra sugar though, it used a bit more than i thought it would and ended up having to use a bunch of splenda packets (I had put a little bit of milk in my mashed potatoes like i always do but i think it made it take a lot more sugar, so i suggest just using pure mashed potato). Oh, and if you dip the top and sides in the chocolate then freeze a minute or 2 you can dip the bottoms relatively mess free. That's about it. Great recipe thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PercyPea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I made these for cub scout den meeting. The boys liked them and my two little daughters seem to enjoy them. But I didn't care for them. I prefer the real York Peppermint patties. I had no idea how much 8 cups of powdered sugar was, I had to make a run to store for more mid recipe. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These are really good. Don't let the mashed potatoes fool you. Everyone said they were delicious and couldn't believe i made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOTDOG6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
ABSOLUTELY AWEFUL!! Followed this recipe by the book and once I added the powdered sugar, the mix turned into a "soupy" texture. No way to roll into balls, just liquidy. Since the consistency turned out so badly, I thought for sure the taste would be more appealing......NOT! Tasted exactly like buttery peppermint potatoes. YUK! I'm on my way to finding a tried and true recipe on another site. Thanks for sharing anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Give_God_Praise!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This recipe came out very runny. I had to throw out. Will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Delicious, if not messy to make. Mine took a few cups more sugar than mentioned (I lost track counting after 8!) and I ended up dropping the somewhat gooey "dough" on wax paper-lined cookie sheets by teaspoonfuls and not flattening them at all. I put them in my oven (cold) for about 24 hours to dry, then dipped them in chocolate and the chocolate evened out a lot of the lumpiness. One of my hubbie's coworkers called them "professional" and this was my first try at chocolate/candy making ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is a great recipe. I used my bread machine to mix the dough. I just added the powered sugar at little at a time. It turned out so nice and easy to form into the patties. I deleted the salt. I also used parafin wax and milk chocolate chips rather than using the shortening. I froze them before dipping them in the chocolate. Knowing my family, I will be making these every year at Christmas. I also did some using raspberry flavoring and a little red food coloring. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mulvane, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I have some tips for all of you who are frustrated with them melting. Freeze them for about an hour or overnight before you dip them and take them out ONLY when you're ready to do it! This will produce a much cleaner, prettier patty. I've never used this recipe here, but I have my own personal recipe I use that turns out every time. Use white almond bark and a rasberry flavoring for Valentine's Day or as a nice color ensemble with the chocolate/mint patties in a holiday basket! And I gave this 5 stars because of the people that followed the recipe as directed, it turned out great for them. I don't believe in giving someone a bad review just because I messed it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArlenePlunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
These are pretty good. I think I flattened mine too much because they seem to have too much chocolate per peppermint. Also, I don't think there should be as much salt if any. You can really taste it, and it doesn't go with the peppermint. I used the exact amount of peppermint, and mine are none too strong. I only wish I had thought to add paraffin to the chocolate so they looked a little prettier. **Hint for the chocolate coating: melt chocolate in a shallow bowl, drop patty in, and use slotted pancake turner to flip it over then take it out and let all excess chocolate drip; do this quickly so the patty doesn't melt into the chocolate; use a knife to scrape patty from pancake turner onto wax paper-- never get your hands messy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKSANDBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Junction, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Delicious and easy to make. Was a bit sticky and the finished product didn't look assembly-line perfect but they tasted great! Went so fast, we're making another batch! We used the full amount of peppermint extract and confectioners sugar as called for in the recipe but used A LOT more chocolate for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States