Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I made these for Easter treats. I used several different extracts and they came out great. I really liked them with orange extract. Maple extract got rave reviews too. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Amazing! I froze them after mixing the minty filling and after dipping them in chocolate. I made 5 dozen of these and they were gone within a few days- everyone loved them! I am still trying to wrap my head around the fact that you make them with mashed potatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
The texture really is perfect, just like the York Peppermint Patties and taste delicious. If you don't eat them right away, you should store them in the freezer for the best flavor and texture. I needed extra powdered sugar to make it more of a soft dough and not as sticky and a little more than double the amount of chocolate. I would also recommend freezing the filling before using, and only take a few out at a time to dip because they do get soft quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
These were so good! Just like the store bought ones. Who knew...potatoes! I followed the recipe to the tee. I can't wait to try other flavors with this. Just one suggestion. You might want to run the mashed potatoes through a sieve just to make sure there are no bits of potatoes in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: American Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Sooooo delicious! Thank you! I ended up using an extra 2 cups of powdered sugar to get the right consistency. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
these were great! i think i used closer to 9 cups of sugar, i lost count after about 5, i added one cup at a time. i also used chocolate almond bark instead of the chocolate and shortening, just easier i thought. i was a little nervous because at first they were sticking to the paper, but after a while of drying out they were better. we thought they were better if they are kept in the fridge. i will definitely be making these again, thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
The first and second day, these were awesome! So much better than PEP bars. Yesterday was the third day and I thought they got kind of grainy and tasted more like icing sugar than the creamy mint center they had had. Was lot of work dipping them, we ended up with about 100 and used probably a pound of chocolate. Make sure to let the filling freeze before dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I would make these again but with a few changes. I would add more peppermint extract or even better I would use peppermint oil. The recipe as stated does not have enough minty flavor. Also I think in the chocolate I would add less shortening because I didn't really like it that way. I dipped a few in just tempered chocolate and those were much better and weren't melty if left at room temperature. I used way more chocolate than it called for and also an extra cup or so of sugar. But the patties were easy to dip and overall the recipe was a good idea and I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Good but hard to work with.......... and tons of sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This is the best recipe for peppermint patties i have ever tried! I also used a few drops of peppermint oil instead of extract; Turned out perfect. Also when I melted the chocolate, i used more and used coconut oil to melt in with it (also added extra cocoa and it was extra chocolatey. Everyone wanted the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States