Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
Great recipe! Quick and the kids love it. I didn't dry them overnight I put them in the freezer until firm then dipped them. Also made them with lemon very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I have some tips for all of you who are frustrated with them melting. Freeze them for about an hour or overnight before you dip them and take them out ONLY when you're ready to do it! This will produce a much cleaner, prettier patty. I've never used this recipe here, but I have my own personal recipe I use that turns out every time. Use white almond bark and a rasberry flavoring for Valentine's Day or as a nice color ensemble with the chocolate/mint patties in a holiday basket! And I gave this 5 stars because of the people that followed the recipe as directed, it turned out great for them. I don't believe in giving someone a bad review just because I messed it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArlenePlunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
Whatever you do, don't use instant mashed potatoes. Somehow, I couldn't get the patties to thicken. As I didn't have any extra powdered sugar to add, I was forced to add extra potatoes and then it ended up tasting awful. I will try again with regular potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I also varied the flavors: lemon, orange, and maple. I shape the dough in to a small log, cut it into small squares and used it as filling for those candy molds you buy at craft stores. I stored them in fridge until I gave them away as gifts. I am going to do the same thing for my wedding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
awesome! they tasted just like york peppermint patties :) .. my only qualm is that mashing the potatoes by hand just doesn't cut it. they need to be as smooth as possible for this recipe. because even though i thought i did a pretty good job mashing them, there were these hard little pieces of potato in the finished product that were kind of unpleasant to bite into. but that was more my mistake than anyone elses. next time i make this recipe, i will use a hand mixer for at least 2 minutes. ~christine~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~christine~

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Yum!! Yum!!! These were GREAT--I had a lot of compliaments on these! Hubbys favorite is Yorkshire Peppermint Patties, and he said these tasted just like them. I didn't have any wax paper so I used an oven liner (new of course)--worked GREAT. When they filled the oven liner I used half of my cutting board--Bad idea-they stuck and I had to chissel them off. I didn't have time to let them sit overnight becaue I made them the day before Christmas Eve, so I put them in the freezer like another reviewer suggested--worked out perfect--HUGE time saver. I used a lot more sugar than the recipe called for, and I added a few drops of green food coloring for Christmas. Gave some out with cookies in Christmas themed tins. My daughter (5) helped make the patties, and we had a ball! Will definatly be making again. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is a great recipe. I used my bread machine to mix the dough. I just added the powered sugar at little at a time. It turned out so nice and easy to form into the patties. I deleted the salt. I also used parafin wax and milk chocolate chips rather than using the shortening. I froze them before dipping them in the chocolate. Knowing my family, I will be making these every year at Christmas. I also did some using raspberry flavoring and a little red food coloring. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mulvane, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Tasty recipie but very messy couldn't understand how all of you managed a good looking patty. For me those patties won't look good,unless u used piping bags, one for the melted chocolate and another for the potatoe mix. This is what i did i piped a layer of chocolate in cupcake papers then freezed them for 1min. piped in the potatoe mix and allow to freeze 1 min then piped in the last layer of chocolate then freeze.Remove the paper before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
These were wonderful. I varied the flavorings, and made some with maple and lemon centers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
This is a good recipe, although we thought there was too much peppermint, so we cut it in half and that was perfect! We also tinted a few green before we put the chocolate on- We're going to try this same recipe with different flavorings- such as Orange and Maple-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States