Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
READ THE REVIEWS!!! This was a great recipe because the finished product is delicious. However, as most reviewers already stated the process requires a lot more sugar and chocolate than the recipe calls for. I made a half batch, got 53 patties and needed a pound and a 1/3 of powdered sugar. I used melting chips which worked a lot better than the few at the end I made with chocolate chips. If you have the time make sure to just leave the mint patties out to dry overnight--I stuck half in the freezer and half sat out over night. Definitely let the frozen ones come down to room temperature before you dip them because that's when they fall apart. They'll actually start losing form with the simple heat from your hand. Dip quickly and if you use your fingers you can make swirls with the excess chocolate on your fingers (plus lick them when you're done).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I followed the recipe and they are delicious! I needed over 20 ounces of chocolate to dip them all though. I did use instant mashed potatoes, but I mixed them thicker (with less water) than the instructions call for and didn't add any butter to them. I needed about 9 cups of icing sugar. At first the mixture was a bit runny/wet, and I thought it would never form dough, but I chilled it for a little while and it was fine. I let the patties dry overnight as instructed. I didn't have any problems with the patties falling apart, until the end when I didn't have very much chocolate left and it was getting thick. I kept my melted chocolate in a double boiler though, I think it would be very difficult to keep it melted by microwaving. I used a bent fork to dip them and wiped off the excess on the edge of the double boiler. This made about 120 candies, I think next time I will start with less potatoes, maybe half or 3/4 of a cup. They are delicious though, and I drizzled them with melted green mint chocolate chips for decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Delightful! Thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
These were okay. The texture wasn't that amazing - kinda mealy. I wouldn't say they were terrible, but I will try to find a better recipe. My Mom, who is a huge fan of anything mint, liked them, but nobody else loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
made these for a cook off and won, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbermuffin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA
Living In: Quincy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This just made a mess i couldnt even form it in a patty:( what did i do wrong??i followed the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I read quite a few reviews wherree theee person states that they 'had to freeze' or 'had to refridgerate' the patties or dough before they could dip them in the chocolate. If the reiepe is read through and followed thy probably wouldn't have that problem. The reciepe says to let the patties dry overnight before dipping in cocolate. Dyr not get cold. If the candy isin't allowed to cure in the way its supposed to, how can you expect it to work out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
These turned out great. My mixture was a bit more runny than I wanted (but it could be because I overcooked my potatos). So I added sugar, but I didnt want to oversweeten the mixture. I ended up opening a box of flaked potatos to thicken it up to a dough consistancy. I added sugar or flakes depending on whether or not it was too sweet. I also added more mint extract. I think this recipe is great. We melted andes chocolate baking bits for the coating which had a great dipping consistancy (I would highly reccomend).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Hopson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
4 stars for messiness/complicatedness, but they are 5 star flavor. I mixed the ingredients together and then froze them in the bowl they were in for ~2 hours! Then I formed them into patties, placed on wax paper on a cookie sheet, and froze for ~15 minutes. I used regular Smart Balance instead of shortening, so maybe that changed things a bit, but I had to add a BIT of oil to the chocolate coating mixture to make it smooth and thin enough! The patties were no where near a dippable texture, so I plopped the chocolate on top and stuck them back in the freezer; and that's where I'm storing them! I believe the reviews that say more sugar is needed, because mine was quite sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Easy! Yummy! No one believed there were mashed potatoes inside... For those of you having issues with them being too soft... you might need more of the 10X sugar to make them more like a dough. Just add a little at a time until it's the right consistancy. I used a pampered chef scoop to drop them onto the wax paper. This made them uniform in size. Flattened with the back of a spoon sprayed with non-stick spray. They look (almost) professional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States