Chocolate Covered Orange Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I didn't actually make these but gave the recipe to my mom since she loves the choc/orange combo. She made them and I thought they were awesome. Lots of flavor. She said they weren't too hard either. Will definitely try on my own sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These were very sweet. I found that they taste better after a few days...gives the flavors a little bit more time to blend that way. I loved them, just the same!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
When making the "dough" for these, I tasted it and it was so familiar, but I couldn't figure out where from. A confrence with my mom sorted things out - growing up, she'd made the exact recipe only rolled them in powdered sugar. I think the chocolate was a welcome change and the whole family agreed. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Ok, I just made these, and this is the suggestion I have to appease those cooks who say the mix is too sweet. It started out as my mess up, to which I added too much orange juice, as my can was a 12 oz. can, and it calls for a 6 oz. can. Instead of doubling the rest of the recipe, and more sugar, I added a box of precrushed graham cracker crumbs until my mixture dried out and was easier to handle. I also bought mini paper cups and before rolling out 3 dozen cookie balls that didn't fit the "1/2" ball, I measured against my paper cups, so they were just a little smaller than ping pong balls. Now, that adjusts the sweetness and size issue some folks had. As for the dipping just follow the other cooks and use a fork or a skewer to get them dipped and add a little shortening or oil to the chocolate. I adorned mine with little sprinkles I bought that were snowflakes. How cute they are. And the mix isn't too sweet at all, in fact it has inspired me to do more with canned orange juice! Thanks Vicki!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
What a waste of ingredients. Way too sweet... couldn't even eat them. And very very messy. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
These were so good! My family loved them. The orange flavoring is just right in them. I made them a couple of weeks before Thanksgiving and they freeze wonderfully. They make alot more than 16 though!!! Please try these; you will not be disapointed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethlehem, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
These were good and a nice change from the usual cookie/candy. I dipped them in semi-sweet chips instead of milk chocolate. My boyfriend loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
These are very rich and delicious. I solved the chocolate dipping problem by using the kind of chocolate designed for dipping and coating rather than baking chips. Since they're so rich, I suggest you roll the cookies small. Definitely more of a candy than a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Socalreporter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
i did not really like these. The orange taste just was not good. My husband on the other hand loved them. Maybe I'm just not a chocolate/orange person. I doubled the recipe and it made 10 dozen balls! So the servings listed is way off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Absolutely wonderful! The orange taste is intense, and yet natural- not like orange flavoring at all. These got rave reviews, and were really simple to make. For all of those who had chocolate-dipping issues: drop the ball into the chocolate, lift it out with a fork (but don't stab it!) and gently shake off excess. Then use a teaspoon to roll the ball off of the fork and on to your tray to harden. I only needed about 2/3 of the chocolate- but I drizzled the rest on a batch of biscotti...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States