Chocolate Covered Orange Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I had no vanilla wafers, so I used oreo cookie crumbs instead. The dough was a bit sticky, so I added a bit more cookie crumbs which worked out nicely. I used bittersweet chocolate instead of the milk chocolate. Although they were a bit tedious to make, they were worth it. These cookies have been the season's hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
To make the chocolate coat easier add a tablespoon or two of vegetable oil to the chocolate mixture. The first year I made these I nearly pulled all of my hair out while trying to coat these. The oil makes it much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
The mix doesn't set properly and the cookies themselves have a horrific bite to them. I wouldn't recommend the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
These were very good. At first I had a difficult time coating the balls with chocolate. I offer the following suggestions: 1. I used a 12 oz. bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips and melted them in a double-boiler. 2. When the chocolate was almost melted, I added 3 Tbsp. of shortening and stirred until it was fully melted. (Doing this helps the chocolate set-up firm and dry, and you don't taste it a bit. 3. I dropped the cookies into the melted chocolate mixture. 4. I used a fork to roll them over gently. 5. I slid a fork under the cookies to lift them out, tapping off excess chocolate gently into the pot of chocolate. 6. Finally, I used a toothpick to slide the cookie off the fork onto a sheet of waxed paper. It was really easy to do, and the cookies looked gorgeous and tasted great! I also followed another reviewer's suggestion, and melted white chocolate chips, which I died orange with food coloring, and piped the colored cholate on to the top of the cookie. It really did look like something you would buy at a candy store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYNLEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
These had a wonderful orange taste. I also had a very difficult time coating them. For that reason alone, I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Declo, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Our family really loves these. Nice orange flavor, not too strong and have a nice texture. It was a great suggestion to use skewers to dip them in chocolate and I let them air-dry over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
WOW! My mom made these for years when I was a child, but we never thought to dip them in chocolate! We always rolled ours in crushed walnuts...which BTW is still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
WOW! These were so delicious. Unlike another reviewer, I thought the orange flavor was very subtle and not overpowering. Here are some things to consider for ensuring the least mess and the most efficient way to cover with chocolate: line a large jelly roll pan with parchment or waxed paper;transfer melted chocolate to a plate or shallow dish; push a 5in bamboo skewer (get them several to a pkg at the market) down thru the top of the ball;place a good size amount of melted chocolate on a rubber or metal spatula; use a combination of rolling and patting action to coate the ball;place coated ball onto prepared jelly roll pan to chill; If you're a perfectionist, you may want to dab the hole made by the skewer with a dab of chocolate. Next time I make these I will cut the sugar to 3/4lb and add about 1/2t salt to cut the sweetness a bit. I made the balls approx 1/2-3/4" round rather than an inch for ease of handling and eating.Judging by the moistness, I will probably let them "set up" in a 175 degree oven for a half hour or so. Most people would probably find this recipe perfect as is, but I am striving to make a similar product that is less messy to eat, especially when serving them for the holidays or to guests.These are very rich and delicious so keep serving size in mind.Thanks Vicki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I was disappointed with these, too. The orange taste is too strong, like cheap candy, and they were VERY hard to coat with the chocolate. They're too big for mini-cupcake liners and too small for regular ones, so I ended up with a bunch of unattractive chocolate lumps crammed into the smaller liners. I'm a big fan of orange and chocolate candy, but I couldn't even eat these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Sorry but I didn't like this recipe at all, the balls were hard to coat with chocolate and i was a bit dissapointed the the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States