Chocolate-Covered OREO Cookie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Used twice as many oreos in filling- be sure to break the cookies into pieces rather than crushing in a bag so the filling stays white in color. Used chocolate brownie cake recipe from this site to doctor up the cake part- otherwise it would be pretty bland. About 30 minutes in 350 oven for 2 9 inch round cake pans. Don't overcook! The ganache was simple and delicious (I used ghiradelli choc). Because the cake was pretty thick next time I will spread the ganache as usual but then frost the entire cake with rich choc frosting from this site. Worth making again with mentioned changes- not so sure it would be all that as stated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I used the "Too Much Chocolate Cake" recipe from this site for the cakes (it's a doctored devil's food)and mixed some crumbled oreos into the batter, used "Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting" instead of the cool whip filling, and used more like 30 crushed oreos in the filling. It looked just like the picture and was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is by far one of the best cakes I've ever made, if not THE BEST! I don't even like chocolate cake! Super easy to make and it is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nymbus
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Everyone else in the family raved- but it was really sweet, needs more crushed Oreo and the chocolate on top was a bit thick. That said, it has been requested for three birthdays in a row...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymbus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made this for my son's 6th birthday, it was a big hit! It was very easy to make as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Rave reviews from my guests! Made the cake from scratch. See extreme chocolate cake recipe on this site. Made a slightly different chocolate glaze. 2T melted butter, 2 squares unsweetened baking chocolate, 1 cup powder sugar, and 2T milk. Blend together and pour over the top of the cake. Refrigerate shortly to set the glaze. Filling as instructed. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TMB cooks
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Very yummy and easy to make. My daughter requested this cake for her birthday I made the Oreo crumbs to fine. Next time I'll make the pieces bigger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Very easy and very yummy. I followed the recipe exactly and the cake looks fantastic. The chocolate glaze is a little runny so let it sit and cool slightly before pouring over the cake. Spoon it slowly as it will drip down the sides. I always add a little instant coffee granules (1-2 tsp..dissolved in hot water) to any chocolate mix (cake or brownies). The coffee compliments the chocolate well and gives a box mix something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
My friend and I were bored one day so we found this recipe on this website. As we were making it, it looked perfectly fine. But when we started to put it together, there was too much cake! The oreo mix was very small, probably more than 1/2 the size of the picture. Unless you're a pro cook, I wouldn't make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
My son wanted an "Oreo cake" for his 13th birthday, so I tried this one. All 6 boys gave this 5 stars! One of them even commented that it looked like I spent a lot of time on it. (How nice!) This looks & tastes so good, with not much more effort than just frosting. I didn't use all the chocolate & even after letting it cool for 7 minutes, it was still too liquefied & drizzled down the edges of the cake. No complaints, though. Might only use 1/2 the suggested amount next time, which apparently will be very soon! I'm also thinking about what other flavors of cake mix to use... maybe yellow? Of course it wouldn't like an Oreo, but as long as it tastes good : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States