Chocolate Covered Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
These are the best. They are so easy and fun and look like you spent alot of time, but didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHER
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
This is a great recipe and makes lots of eggs! Instead of coconut I made cherry-nut with maraschino cherries. They were all good. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I use melted Merckens chocolate discs, not chips and vegetable oil (the best tasting chocolate for these in my book are the Mercken's discs). Also, I noted that you should refrigerate for a short while so the candies are easier to roll and dip. These steps might help make these a favorite for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Yum! I followed the directions (although, for me, 2½ pounds of icing sugar came to 10 cups) until step 2. My husband is allergic to coconut, so I did one part plain, one part peanut butter, one part Nutella (I used about 2/3 cup of the chocolate-hazelnut spread), and one part chocolate-orange (about ½ cup or so of cocoa and ½ tsp or so of orange extract, and then I mixed it in my hands to avoid crumbly batter). To make the egg-like shape, I rolled slightly-heaping teaspoonfuls of batter in my palms until it was like a ball and then I squished-and-rolled the ball slightly. Egg-like enough for me. :) I ended up with 61 'eggs'. I'm also using the chocolate melties for the coating. I'll add to my review after dipping, but the Nutella filling is AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
We love this recipe. I've made it 3 times since last Easter and am about to make it again. I do add a little more peanut butter to the eggs. However, I found the cocoa powder eggs to be hard and gross. We stick with the buttercream and peanut butter egss....Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
The chocolate version dry I had to add milk to get them in the egg shape. Next time I will start with 1/2 cup cocoa powder and mix in until I get the constistency desired. Instead of the plain portion I added 1 tsp of peppermint extract taste just like peppermint pattie. I think I will halve the recipe next time. It takes a while to make all of the eggs. Also I used a lot of chocolate to cover all of the eggs about 6 cups but, I a novice to making candy. Overall I am really happy with this recipe and will be making them next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
everyone loved these. i found the recipe very easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
My first time ever amking these and my family absolutly want them. THey don't want me to wait for next Easter, they want them now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I made these today for Easter and they turned out really well. I made peanut butter, chocolate, coconut, and the fourth batch was walnut cherry. We have a friend who used to make these for us years ago and my daughter asked me to find a similar recipe and I think this is it. Thanks alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I made this for the second year in a row this past Easter, and I love the recipe. This year I divided the dough into thirds and used peanut butter, coconut, and peppermint extract, and the results were wonderful. I used Hershey's Special Dark chocolate chips to cover the peppermint and coconut eggs, and milk chips for the peanut butter. It does take more chips than the recipe calls for, but I think the taste of real chocolate chips is better than the chocolate coating candy. I can't wait for next Easter to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FONDUE79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States