Chocolate Covered Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AlmostaCowgirl
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was an incredible recipe! I only separated it into thirds because I'm not a big chocolate (center) fan and from what others' reviews on it were. And, instead of forming them into egg shapes, I cheated and bought a silicone cupcake pan and just coated the insides with chocolate up the rim. Then I set them in the freezer until hardened (about 5 minutes), filled up the molds with the filling about 7/8 full and sealed them in with melted chocolate. I gave them to some family and neighbors and they thought they were store bought! PERFECT!!! Next time I'll get some white chocolate and color it with Easter colors and hand paint the designs on them. I did one batch with 1 1/2 tsp. of peppermint extract and it tasted just like a peppermint patty, only better! The peanut butter ones were the favorite of everyone (because my family is peanut butter lovers. I did have a problem with the first batch of peanut butter being a little to dry, so the next batch I just added a Tablespoon at a time of milk and it made them perfect! And the third batch I did with maraschino cherries chopped up and a little cherry extract. Those were the favorites of everyone that I had to stash some for myself and the husband! They were superb! Thank you kindly for such a fantastic recipe! My kids have LOVED helping me make these, not to mention they gobble them down before they even hit the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlmostaCowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hooper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
These are good & I like the idea that you get many kinds out of one batch. I thought the peanut butter ones lacked that peanut butter flavor, but it may be just me. Next time I'll play around with some other flavors which is really the best part of this recipe. There are so many differnt combinations you could do. Will definitely make again. I did use a dipping chocolate over the chocolate chips though--works better and you don't have to worry about tempering the chocolate & it maybe getting bloom. A mini crockpot works great for this--put chocolate in, let it sit stirring every so often so it doesn't burn on sides, when almost melted unplug it & the chocolate will finish melting & stay melted for a long time. I made smaller eggs so that they were easier to dip-if prefer larger eggs then you'll have to use two forks. I used different colored chocolates to decorate the outside like an Easter egg & to tell them apart. Also used different chocolates to dip-did chocolate egg in white chocolate, did peanut butter in dark chocolate & cream in dark chocolate. I didn't do the coconut because I was also serving macaroons so was worried about having too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNDiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I use melted Merckens chocolate discs, not chips and vegetable oil (the best tasting chocolate for these in my book are the Mercken's discs). Also, I noted that you should refrigerate for a short while so the candies are easier to roll and dip. These steps might help make these a favorite for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I have a lot of different comments for this recipe. This recipe would have been rated 5 stars except that the measurement given for the cocoa powder was wrong. Next time, I'll start with 1/4 cup and try that. I had to make another batch of eggs to add dough to the chocolate section, and I threw out much of the original chocolate mix. The overall recipe is a good one. I made miniature eggs and they worked out great. The chocolate eggs turned out very like rich, dark chocolate truffles which I covered in white chocolate. All of the eggs are getting rave reviews. Variations I'll try next year: mix together chocolate dough and coconut dough and top with an almond; add raspberry extract in the chocolate eggs; orange for the vanilla dough; wrap vanilla dough on a maraschino cherry and dip, etc. I used Guitard's chocolate, but I recommend Wilton's as Guitard's is hard to work with. Mark cookie sheets or chocolates so you can identify them after dipping. Shape all of your eggs on waxpaper lined cookie sheets before starting dipping. Make a lot of room in fridge for chilling dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Yum! I followed the directions (although, for me, 2½ pounds of icing sugar came to 10 cups) until step 2. My husband is allergic to coconut, so I did one part plain, one part peanut butter, one part Nutella (I used about 2/3 cup of the chocolate-hazelnut spread), and one part chocolate-orange (about ½ cup or so of cocoa and ½ tsp or so of orange extract, and then I mixed it in my hands to avoid crumbly batter). To make the egg-like shape, I rolled slightly-heaping teaspoonfuls of batter in my palms until it was like a ball and then I squished-and-rolled the ball slightly. Egg-like enough for me. :) I ended up with 61 'eggs'. I'm also using the chocolate melties for the coating. I'll add to my review after dipping, but the Nutella filling is AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHER
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
This is a great recipe and makes lots of eggs! Instead of coconut I made cherry-nut with maraschino cherries. They were all good. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Followed the mint suggestion, added 1/2 teaspoon mint extract to the plain quarter. Combined 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa, 1/4 cup hot chocolate mix and 1/4 cup chocolate milk powder for the chocolate ones, which worked well. Just cocoa would have been dry/bitter. Eggs tasted very good and held together well, but you have to keep them somewhere cool. Peanut butter was the best imo. You'll need more than 2 cups of chips to dip them all, but they're fine undipped too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
We love this recipe. I've made it 3 times since last Easter and am about to make it again. I do add a little more peanut butter to the eggs. However, I found the cocoa powder eggs to be hard and gross. We stick with the buttercream and peanut butter egss....Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
Although most of them were good, they were a lot of work. The cream and coconut were the best. The peanut butter and cocoa were drier, so I will add less next time. They did get better the longer they sat. Got a lot of compliments on these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
These are the best. They are so easy and fun and look like you spent alot of time, but didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States