Chocolate Covered Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
everyone loved these. i found the recipe very easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
i made these for easter baskets and they were a hit. i, like most others, was unable to do the chocolate coating, so i only dipped half in so the top part was covered in chocolate. this also made identification easier. to avoid the crumbles i only used 1kg of sugar, it made them stick pretty well. but i did feel that the peanut butter ones melted a bit too easily. otherwise, fantastic, will also try mint next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
These were so yummy! My mom and I had so much fun making these. Everyone was so impressed and they disappeared so fast. With a few adjustments, this recipe is perfect! Taking advice from a previous review, I used a teaspoon of peppermint extract in the plain portion - these were so yummy. I will make these again - next time I will make the delicious peanut butter and peppermint, and maybe play around with other flavors, as the coconut and chocolate weren't a huge hit. Maybe the coconut ones needed extra coconut flavoring (extract?) and the chocolate ones were really dry. Also, I had to keep these refrigerated so they wouldn't melt... next time I will use quality dipping chocolate instead of chocolate chips with vegetable oil so they won't melt in your hands (and I needed a LOT more dipping chocolate than this recipe calls for). I also dipped the tips in different colored white chocolate so you could see which flavors were which. Hint: 2.5 pounds of powdered sugar equals 9 and 1/2 cups. Does anyone have any ideas about how to shape eggs???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHER
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
This is a great recipe and makes lots of eggs! Instead of coconut I made cherry-nut with maraschino cherries. They were all good. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
I thought this recipe was easy and yummy. I divided the dough into fourths and made huge easter eggs and after dipping them in chocolate, decorated them with my kids names. I cut little slices off when they want some (they are easy to slice). Peanut butter was the best, but next time, I will try mint for the plain one. I think it would taste like a Peppermint Patty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
These do look great when they are finished but the only add-in that I liked was the peanut butter. They tasted a lot like buckeyes. I thought the coconut would be great but it had very little flavor. I would make these again with the peanut butter only. I think you need to make them very small, like 1-1 1/2 inches long because one serving can be a lot otherwise. I too had trouble dipping them in chocolate, I was a mess! Since mine were sort of large, I tried cutting one into pieces, and the middle gets crumbly. You also need to know that these need to stay refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
The chocolate version dry I had to add milk to get them in the egg shape. Next time I will start with 1/2 cup cocoa powder and mix in until I get the constistency desired. Instead of the plain portion I added 1 tsp of peppermint extract taste just like peppermint pattie. I think I will halve the recipe next time. It takes a while to make all of the eggs. Also I used a lot of chocolate to cover all of the eggs about 6 cups but, I a novice to making candy. Overall I am really happy with this recipe and will be making them next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
These have a very good taste, but were a little more time consuming than I thought. I did like the versatility of different items to mix and different tastes. And humbly I think I need lessons on how to properly dip into melted chocolate, because I found that somewhat difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
These are the best. They are so easy and fun and look like you spent alot of time, but didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-79 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States