Chocolate Covered Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by AlmostaCowgirl
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was an incredible recipe! I only separated it into thirds because I'm not a big chocolate (center) fan and from what others' reviews on it were. And, instead of forming them into egg shapes, I cheated and bought a silicone cupcake pan and just coated the insides with chocolate up the rim. Then I set them in the freezer until hardened (about 5 minutes), filled up the molds with the filling about 7/8 full and sealed them in with melted chocolate. I gave them to some family and neighbors and they thought they were store bought! PERFECT!!! Next time I'll get some white chocolate and color it with Easter colors and hand paint the designs on them. I did one batch with 1 1/2 tsp. of peppermint extract and it tasted just like a peppermint patty, only better! The peanut butter ones were the favorite of everyone (because my family is peanut butter lovers. I did have a problem with the first batch of peanut butter being a little to dry, so the next batch I just added a Tablespoon at a time of milk and it made them perfect! And the third batch I did with maraschino cherries chopped up and a little cherry extract. Those were the favorites of everyone that I had to stash some for myself and the husband! They were superb! Thank you kindly for such a fantastic recipe! My kids have LOVED helping me make these, not to mention they gobble them down before they even hit the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlmostaCowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hooper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I have made this year after year and have shared this recipe with others. My favorite is slivered almonds and cherries, buy you can be creative with your filling. A double broiler works perfect for melting the chocolate, which I use melting chocolate instead of chips. Great treat and fun to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Although these tasted okay, they were powerfully sweet and did not work in the chocolate at all! Maybe my fault? But still nobody ate them but me, and I only ate them late in the afternoon when I was hungry and there was nothing else available!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Loda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was really good. I wound up getting the chocolate a little too thick, be careful about loading it down with that. Very sweet. I used coconut which was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Columbia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
These tasted great and are SO versatile! I made one batch of plain, one coconut, and two peanut butter. I used Reese's peanut butter, and they seemed to be the favorite! I used chocolate almond bark instead of the chips, worked great! I made these by myself which took quite a while, but I think if you have kids, it would make a great little Easter project!! Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Living in West Africa you can't go out and buy Easter candy. So I made this for my family and friends and they love it. It had been along time since I made candy and I was worried I forgot how but this recipe helpped me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
I made this for the second year in a row this past Easter, and I love the recipe. This year I divided the dough into thirds and used peanut butter, coconut, and peppermint extract, and the results were wonderful. I used Hershey's Special Dark chocolate chips to cover the peppermint and coconut eggs, and milk chips for the peanut butter. It does take more chips than the recipe calls for, but I think the taste of real chocolate chips is better than the chocolate coating candy. I can't wait for next Easter to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FONDUE79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I made these today for Easter and they turned out really well. I made peanut butter, chocolate, coconut, and the fourth batch was walnut cherry. We have a friend who used to make these for us years ago and my daughter asked me to find a similar recipe and I think this is it. Thanks alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Yum! I followed the directions (although, for me, 2½ pounds of icing sugar came to 10 cups) until step 2. My husband is allergic to coconut, so I did one part plain, one part peanut butter, one part Nutella (I used about 2/3 cup of the chocolate-hazelnut spread), and one part chocolate-orange (about ½ cup or so of cocoa and ½ tsp or so of orange extract, and then I mixed it in my hands to avoid crumbly batter). To make the egg-like shape, I rolled slightly-heaping teaspoonfuls of batter in my palms until it was like a ball and then I squished-and-rolled the ball slightly. Egg-like enough for me. :) I ended up with 61 'eggs'. I'm also using the chocolate melties for the coating. I'll add to my review after dipping, but the Nutella filling is AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I use melted Merckens chocolate discs, not chips and vegetable oil (the best tasting chocolate for these in my book are the Mercken's discs). Also, I noted that you should refrigerate for a short while so the candies are easier to roll and dip. These steps might help make these a favorite for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States