Chocolate Covered Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These are so easy to make and so tasty. Also sort of time consuming, so I split it into parts. I kneaded the dough and formed them into nuggets placed them in the fridge overnight, then dipped them the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smurfette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Love this recipe. Everyone loved these and wanted more. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
These eggs were so much fun! I tried all different fillings. The peanut butter ones were a favorite; I also added peppermint flavoring to some; chopped pecans and carmel to some; and grated chocolate to some. Everyone loved them. I'll be doing this again next year. (I did have to add powdered sugar as needed for some fillings, to make a workable dough)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
this recipe is great! i've been making these easter eggs for several years now and my family loves them! i usually have to make a double batch to satisfy everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These are good, but please note that I cut the sugar in HALF and the recipe made about 30 good sized eggs. I couldn't bear the idea of making them any sweeter, and the choice was a good one. I added 1 cup of PB to the dough and made all PB eggs. They are truly delicious, and cutting back on the sugar didn't harm them a bit. Be sure to use actual candy coating (almond bark?) because otherwise, they won't be easy to coat. Also, I placed my eggs in the freezer before coating (for two days because I didn't get to coating them for awhile!) and frozen eggs are MUCH easier to coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine and Matthew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
excellent fillings!!! the only thing I did different was add nuts to chocolate one. I did have some trouble with he dipping. I needed almost double the chip amount listed and it was quite hard to dip them. Next time I think I will look into molds and dipping chocolate that I have read people used, it would make them perfect.With the price that is charged for chocolate eggs you could make triple of these and they are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winburne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These were terrific!! I made them into smaller balls, because of their sweetness. Instead of making them with chocolate & peanut butter, I made some of them with mint extract, some with cherries & almond extract, & some with maple extract. I took them to work & everyone went crazy over them. The possibilities are only limited by your imagination. Thank you for a fun, yummy, & easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
this recipe was easy and fun to make can we add sprinkles it would make great colors on this recipe for Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I have a lot of different comments for this recipe. This recipe would have been rated 5 stars except that the measurement given for the cocoa powder was wrong. Next time, I'll start with 1/4 cup and try that. I had to make another batch of eggs to add dough to the chocolate section, and I threw out much of the original chocolate mix. The overall recipe is a good one. I made miniature eggs and they worked out great. The chocolate eggs turned out very like rich, dark chocolate truffles which I covered in white chocolate. All of the eggs are getting rave reviews. Variations I'll try next year: mix together chocolate dough and coconut dough and top with an almond; add raspberry extract in the chocolate eggs; orange for the vanilla dough; wrap vanilla dough on a maraschino cherry and dip, etc. I used Guitard's chocolate, but I recommend Wilton's as Guitard's is hard to work with. Mark cookie sheets or chocolates so you can identify them after dipping. Shape all of your eggs on waxpaper lined cookie sheets before starting dipping. Make a lot of room in fridge for chilling dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
The best chocolate eggs ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States