Chocolate Covered Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Love this recipe. Everyone loved these and wanted more. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
These eggs were so much fun! I tried all different fillings. The peanut butter ones were a favorite; I also added peppermint flavoring to some; chopped pecans and carmel to some; and grated chocolate to some. Everyone loved them. I'll be doing this again next year. (I did have to add powdered sugar as needed for some fillings, to make a workable dough)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
this recipe is great! i've been making these easter eggs for several years now and my family loves them! i usually have to make a double batch to satisfy everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These are good, but please note that I cut the sugar in HALF and the recipe made about 30 good sized eggs. I couldn't bear the idea of making them any sweeter, and the choice was a good one. I added 1 cup of PB to the dough and made all PB eggs. They are truly delicious, and cutting back on the sugar didn't harm them a bit. Be sure to use actual candy coating (almond bark?) because otherwise, they won't be easy to coat. Also, I placed my eggs in the freezer before coating (for two days because I didn't get to coating them for awhile!) and frozen eggs are MUCH easier to coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine and Matthew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
excellent fillings!!! the only thing I did different was add nuts to chocolate one. I did have some trouble with he dipping. I needed almost double the chip amount listed and it was quite hard to dip them. Next time I think I will look into molds and dipping chocolate that I have read people used, it would make them perfect.With the price that is charged for chocolate eggs you could make triple of these and they are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winburne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These were terrific!! I made them into smaller balls, because of their sweetness. Instead of making them with chocolate & peanut butter, I made some of them with mint extract, some with cherries & almond extract, & some with maple extract. I took them to work & everyone went crazy over them. The possibilities are only limited by your imagination. Thank you for a fun, yummy, & easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
this recipe was easy and fun to make can we add sprinkles it would make great colors on this recipe for Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I have a lot of different comments for this recipe. This recipe would have been rated 5 stars except that the measurement given for the cocoa powder was wrong. Next time, I'll start with 1/4 cup and try that. I had to make another batch of eggs to add dough to the chocolate section, and I threw out much of the original chocolate mix. The overall recipe is a good one. I made miniature eggs and they worked out great. The chocolate eggs turned out very like rich, dark chocolate truffles which I covered in white chocolate. All of the eggs are getting rave reviews. Variations I'll try next year: mix together chocolate dough and coconut dough and top with an almond; add raspberry extract in the chocolate eggs; orange for the vanilla dough; wrap vanilla dough on a maraschino cherry and dip, etc. I used Guitard's chocolate, but I recommend Wilton's as Guitard's is hard to work with. Mark cookie sheets or chocolates so you can identify them after dipping. Shape all of your eggs on waxpaper lined cookie sheets before starting dipping. Make a lot of room in fridge for chilling dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
The best chocolate eggs ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlmostaCowgirl
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was an incredible recipe! I only separated it into thirds because I'm not a big chocolate (center) fan and from what others' reviews on it were. And, instead of forming them into egg shapes, I cheated and bought a silicone cupcake pan and just coated the insides with chocolate up the rim. Then I set them in the freezer until hardened (about 5 minutes), filled up the molds with the filling about 7/8 full and sealed them in with melted chocolate. I gave them to some family and neighbors and they thought they were store bought! PERFECT!!! Next time I'll get some white chocolate and color it with Easter colors and hand paint the designs on them. I did one batch with 1 1/2 tsp. of peppermint extract and it tasted just like a peppermint patty, only better! The peanut butter ones were the favorite of everyone (because my family is peanut butter lovers. I did have a problem with the first batch of peanut butter being a little to dry, so the next batch I just added a Tablespoon at a time of milk and it made them perfect! And the third batch I did with maraschino cherries chopped up and a little cherry extract. Those were the favorites of everyone that I had to stash some for myself and the husband! They were superb! Thank you kindly for such a fantastic recipe! My kids have LOVED helping me make these, not to mention they gobble them down before they even hit the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlmostaCowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hooper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States